Frog Eye Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This salad is wonderful. The key to making it great is to let the pasta soak in the lemon sauce overnight. The next day add all of the other ingredients. My sister asks me to make this every year. It's really different. I make it instead of a traditional fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Wilburn Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zygomatic
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I used coconut sugar instead of white sugar. And left out the whip cream and marshmallows. Our family and friends loved it! This has been a holiday traditional meal for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I've made frog eye salad for 3 years now and each time I just add variations... this year I could not fine anci de pepe pasta anywhere and so buying the smallest pasta you CAN find will do... I used orzo.. only because I don't care for the taste couscous gives it... I've never added egg to mine because it makes me nervous, I've always assumed egg is only to add color? to which in place of I use non cooked vanilla pudding packet! I took out the first 7 ingredients of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIzzBakerReyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I wish I could find the original one for this. This one is too much salt and the egg is added slowly during the cooking process not started all at one time. Great recipe if you can find the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Reta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is my go to recipe for my favorite salad! I follow the recipe completely, except I do not add coconut. This does make a lot so I would suggest cutting it in half if you don't plan on serving 20 people. It does stay in the fridge for a few days, but gets runny after about 3 days. I would suggest everyone try this recipe at least once in their life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayce Olson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I don't care for marshmallows or for coconut, so I left those two ingredients out, and this was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
My mom always made this recipe when I was a kid and everybody always asked her for the recipe. I made this for a friend's cookout recently and it was such a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleigh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Robbins, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is the best frog eye salad recipe I've found. Adding a 1/2 cup (or more to taste), of dried cranberries gives the salad color and tanginess to offset the sweetness; everyone loves it. I use Craisins by Ocean Spray which are dried cranberries with a little added sugar, not too sweet and very tangy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
My mom makes this a lot and my daughter requested it for confirmation. One thing that Mom and I do is after the dressing and pasta are cooked, mix the pasta into the dressing. The pasta soaks up all that goodness and tastes even better! Also, I wold skip the coconut...texture issues at my house and nut allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deena Safarik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I don't know. Most people passed it over at the picnic and though it as colorful and sweet, the kids felt that it had a weird texture with the pasta element. Not gluten free, though a friend almost ate it because it looked like a fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States