Frog Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ernesta
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
the direction said to cut the marshmallow in half to make two circles... however, my "eyes" kept slipping off because of the arc shape all around. next time, rather than cutting length to length... i'll cut it from width to width forming only an arc at the top and flat surface at the bottom. (overall, very very cute and 3 kids and husband enjoyed them. thanks for the idea.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
These turned out cute! They were fun to make and pretty easy too! The only change I made was I used the peel licorice to make a red mouth. Make sure you put a little more batter in the muffin cups than usual so you have a nice round surface to make your frog on! Very cute idea- big hit with everyone! I made them for "Leap Day" 2-29-2008. I look forward to making them again...in four years! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
These are really cute and super easy to make. I used the green sugar as called for in the ingredients on half of the cupcakes and used green sprinkles for the other half. I changed the eyes on some with larger chocolate chip pieces and used various gummy candy for the mouth/lips for different "Frog" expressions! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
My daughter's first grade class just finished a unit on the rainforest and as a fundraiser to buy 2 acres of rainforest land, the class decided to hold a bake sale. These frogs were perfect and my daughter was so proud! Instead of sprinkling green sugar on top of the frosting, I tinted the frosting a deeper shade of green because I thought sugar on top of sugar would be a little much. I used most of an entire bottle of green food coloring. The cut of the marshmallow is crucial! Like the other user, my marshmallows kept sliding off, so I switched the direction of the cut and no longer had a problem. (It's much easier to cut the marshmallows with scissors instead of a knife.) I used red decorator gel instead of tinting the leftover frosting pink/red. The most time consuming part of the decorating is "glueing" on the chocolate chips; I used a toothpick and put the frosting right on the chip. I baked the cupcakes the day before and it took me nearly an hour and a half just to decorate them, so while they're really cute, I wouldn't make them just to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momof3
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
My son has already asked me when we can make these again. I used heavenly white cake and easiest, most delicious meringue buttercream frosting, both from this site. We made regular size and mini cupcakes because my son wanted to make mommy/daddy and baby frogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I made these cupcakes today to take to a picnic playdate tomorrow and they are very, very cute...and although they are 'easy' to make, don't confuse easy with 'not time consuming'. The cupcakes took a long time to prepare (nearly 3 hours including time for the cupcakes to cool), but I think in the end, they will be well worth it - the kids will love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meiling206
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I used a yellow cake mix and my own buttercream frosting. I followed the rest of the instructions for the froggy assembly! Easy to make, very cute, however they do take a little bit of time. Well worth it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meiling206

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GABBYIK
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
very good idea - i made cupcakes & frosting from scratch, but used the frog idea ... my 6-year-old loved decorating the frogs - she made them have all sorts of funny faces ... like previous reviews said, it is a bit time consuming, but well worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Plantation, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Too cute. My son is in pre-school and all the classes have animal names. He is in the frog class so when I saw this recipe I had to make it. All of the 4 year olds LOVED them as did their parents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dyersburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darla
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Everybody loved them! I did use pipe cleaners to attach the eyes and then I didn't have to worry about them falling off. I also did mini frogs and used the small marshmellows for the eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Frog Cupcakes

Have a hopping good time with frosted frog cupcakes.

Frog Cupcakes

These big-eyed cuties are perfect for kids' birthdays.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States