Frog Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
adorable. took around 1.5 hrs to decorate. i cut the marshmallows into 4's and used a shish kabob stick to dip into the water. Super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my3littlangls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lee, Virginia, USA
Photo by MATTSBELLY
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
So cute! Made these for my son's third birthday to bring to preschool. I was worried about the green sugar melting if I made them night before so I decided to bake them and frost them the night before and finish decorating the next morning (which at 5:00am I didn't think was such a great idea....). They were so cute and the kids loved them. I had a few left over and served them the next day and the sugar was still fine. So go ahead and make them the day before. Also, I used icing for the eyes as my son has a peanut allergy and every package of chocolate chips I could find was made in a plant that also processes peanuts... They were still too cute! Thanks for the recipe and idea. Will definitely pass this on to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Sooooo cute! I loved making these with my kids! They had so much fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Hirsch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenna
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
These turned out really cute and everyone enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
After making 30+ of these babies, I found a way to speed up the tedious process of decorating these cupcakes. First, cut the marshmallows in half as directed, since the round big eyes they create gives them visual appeal. After rolling in green sugar, glue the chocolate eye on the "sticky" side using frosting. Then, with one finger on the "unsticky" side and your thumb on the chocolate chip, place them FIRMLY on the frosting. These were definitely worth the work involved - sooo cute! My daughter helped by glueing on the chocolate chip. We decorated some frogs with green sugar on the frosting (like instructed) and some without, and we decided that they were cuter without. Lastly, we used red Twizzlers "pull-n-peel" to make the mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
What a great idea! I'm giving 5 stars for the decorating idea but used another cake recipe for the cupcakes (Lisa's chocolate chocolate chip cake recipe from this site). These turned out so cute and was not difficult at all. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Very cute cupcakes! Made these for my daughter's 2nd birthday and yes, they are time consuming and tedious but well worth it. I cut the marshmallows in half and then cut a little piece off the bottom to make them sit flat. Used a mini pair of tongs for dipping the mallows in water and then coating w/ sugar. That was the hardest part I think. Putting the chocolate chip eyes and the mouths on was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
A huge hit with the kids - and yes, they are a little time consuming to decorate, but well worth the effort. I used little confetti hearts for a nose and string licorice for a smile! A FUN recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTHREE2
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
My granddaughter (age 9) and I made these cupcakes - she did most of the work, but I did have to put the chocolate chips on the marshmallow eyes - everybody loved them - we will probably make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frog Cupcakes

These big-eyed cuties are perfect for kids' birthdays.

How to Make Frog Cupcakes

Have a hopping good time with frosted frog cupcakes.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States