Frog Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Jenna
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
These turned out really cute and everyone enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
After making 30+ of these babies, I found a way to speed up the tedious process of decorating these cupcakes. First, cut the marshmallows in half as directed, since the round big eyes they create gives them visual appeal. After rolling in green sugar, glue the chocolate eye on the "sticky" side using frosting. Then, with one finger on the "unsticky" side and your thumb on the chocolate chip, place them FIRMLY on the frosting. These were definitely worth the work involved - sooo cute! My daughter helped by glueing on the chocolate chip. We decorated some frogs with green sugar on the frosting (like instructed) and some without, and we decided that they were cuter without. Lastly, we used red Twizzlers "pull-n-peel" to make the mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
What a great idea! I'm giving 5 stars for the decorating idea but used another cake recipe for the cupcakes (Lisa's chocolate chocolate chip cake recipe from this site). These turned out so cute and was not difficult at all. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Very cute cupcakes! Made these for my daughter's 2nd birthday and yes, they are time consuming and tedious but well worth it. I cut the marshmallows in half and then cut a little piece off the bottom to make them sit flat. Used a mini pair of tongs for dipping the mallows in water and then coating w/ sugar. That was the hardest part I think. Putting the chocolate chip eyes and the mouths on was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
A huge hit with the kids - and yes, they are a little time consuming to decorate, but well worth the effort. I used little confetti hearts for a nose and string licorice for a smile! A FUN recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTHREE2
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
My granddaughter (age 9) and I made these cupcakes - she did most of the work, but I did have to put the chocolate chips on the marshmallow eyes - everybody loved them - we will probably make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darla
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Everybody loved them! I did use pipe cleaners to attach the eyes and then I didn't have to worry about them falling off. I also did mini frogs and used the small marshmellows for the eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This is a great recipe! I had so much fun making it for my son's birthday party. While it does take some time to assemble, it is worth it to see my son's excitement when he saw these finished cupcakes. They were very easy to assemble (and i'm NOT a very creative person at all!). I took the advice of other users and cut the marshmallows lengthwise with scissors and then dipped the top part of the marshmallow in a little bowl of water then rolled the wet marshmallow in the green sugar. The water really helps the sugar stick. I also used a little bit of frosting to "glue" the eyes to the marshmallow. I used the recipe for Rick's buttercream frosting (on this site) and colored it green with Wilton's icing colors. They look and taste so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
So cute and SO easy to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Frog Cupcakes

Have a hopping good time with frosted frog cupcakes.

Frog Cupcakes

These big-eyed cuties are perfect for kids' birthdays.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States