Frog Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by GABBYIK
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
very good idea - i made cupcakes & frosting from scratch, but used the frog idea ... my 6-year-old loved decorating the frogs - she made them have all sorts of funny faces ... like previous reviews said, it is a bit time consuming, but well worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Plantation, Florida, USA
Photo by STEPHPAP
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
So cute and easy - just time consuming on the decoration. I used the "Crazy Cake" recipe on this website for the cake and made "Marshmallow Icing". They were adorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHPAP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I love this idea. It's so cute and so easy. I would use brown icing for the mouths, otherwise they might not show up. For what it's worth, I ran out of decorator sugar at cupcake 12. I used the White Cake Frosting I recipe from the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I made this recipe for my son's preschool and it was a big hit!! Instead of sending in all regular size cupcakes, I made 6 cupcakes in my 1/2 dozen pan. I decorated two into frogs, these were the "teacher frogs" (the other 4 I left at home for my husband and other children). I then baked the rest of the batter in mini muffin pans and these were the "student frogs". This seemed to save time and the mini's were more than enough sugar/cupcake for 3 & 4 year olds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
These turned out so cute! My kids really liked making these.. I will make them again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DJ
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Great! My 2 1/2 year old son and I made these for a fall treat. I think the green sugar is the "icing on the cake" so to speak. Without it, the frog wasn't as cute. However, the frogs don't look great for more than about a day or two. The marshmallow eyes start to droop and the sugar begins to bleed. You might try storing them in the fridge, but not sure that would extent their life anyways. For what ever reason, my son liked dipping the cupcakes in the sugar, but never at completed frog. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Cozycook*
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
this were a BIG hit but slightly too sweet! but the being cuteness made it up! I made it for my recent bday :-) even thou i'm not a young child! eveRYONE thought it was cute! Great recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Cozycook*

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Used yellow cake mix and made my own powered sugar frosting. For ease, I just bought a tube of chocolate frosting and used it to dot the eyeballs and draw the mouths - less hassle than sticking chocolate chips on marshmallows and separating the frosting. They are *very* cute and would be great for a young child's birthday party. Tip: Tear apart twizzlers and let it hang out of the mouth like a frog's tongue. You could even add a raisin or chocolate chip at the end so it looks like a fly. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I made these for a boys birthday party. They turned out really good and they were fun to make. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I made these last night. They came out perfect. I used others advice and cut marshmallows in quarters.. Tip-I stuck my finger on the sticky side of marshmallow as i dipped it in water then in sugar...worked like a charm. I prepared the marshmallows while cupcakes were baking and cooling. Saves alot of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Frog Cupcakes

These big-eyed cuties are perfect for kids' birthdays.

How to Make Frog Cupcakes

Have a hopping good time with frosted frog cupcakes.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States