Frog Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I love this idea. It's so cute and so easy. I would use brown icing for the mouths, otherwise they might not show up. For what it's worth, I ran out of decorator sugar at cupcake 12. I used the White Cake Frosting I recipe from the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I made this recipe for my son's preschool and it was a big hit!! Instead of sending in all regular size cupcakes, I made 6 cupcakes in my 1/2 dozen pan. I decorated two into frogs, these were the "teacher frogs" (the other 4 I left at home for my husband and other children). I then baked the rest of the batter in mini muffin pans and these were the "student frogs". This seemed to save time and the mini's were more than enough sugar/cupcake for 3 & 4 year olds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
These turned out so cute! My kids really liked making these.. I will make them again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DJ
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Great! My 2 1/2 year old son and I made these for a fall treat. I think the green sugar is the "icing on the cake" so to speak. Without it, the frog wasn't as cute. However, the frogs don't look great for more than about a day or two. The marshmallow eyes start to droop and the sugar begins to bleed. You might try storing them in the fridge, but not sure that would extent their life anyways. For what ever reason, my son liked dipping the cupcakes in the sugar, but never at completed frog. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Cozycook*
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
this were a BIG hit but slightly too sweet! but the being cuteness made it up! I made it for my recent bday :-) even thou i'm not a young child! eveRYONE thought it was cute! Great recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Cozycook*

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Used yellow cake mix and made my own powered sugar frosting. For ease, I just bought a tube of chocolate frosting and used it to dot the eyeballs and draw the mouths - less hassle than sticking chocolate chips on marshmallows and separating the frosting. They are *very* cute and would be great for a young child's birthday party. Tip: Tear apart twizzlers and let it hang out of the mouth like a frog's tongue. You could even add a raisin or chocolate chip at the end so it looks like a fly. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I made these for a boys birthday party. They turned out really good and they were fun to make. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I made these last night. They came out perfect. I used others advice and cut marshmallows in quarters.. Tip-I stuck my finger on the sticky side of marshmallow as i dipped it in water then in sugar...worked like a charm. I prepared the marshmallows while cupcakes were baking and cooling. Saves alot of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
adorable. took around 1.5 hrs to decorate. i cut the marshmallows into 4's and used a shish kabob stick to dip into the water. Super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my3littlangls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lee, Virginia, USA
Photo by MATTSBELLY
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
So cute! Made these for my son's third birthday to bring to preschool. I was worried about the green sugar melting if I made them night before so I decided to bake them and frost them the night before and finish decorating the next morning (which at 5:00am I didn't think was such a great idea....). They were so cute and the kids loved them. I had a few left over and served them the next day and the sugar was still fine. So go ahead and make them the day before. Also, I used icing for the eyes as my son has a peanut allergy and every package of chocolate chips I could find was made in a plant that also processes peanuts... They were still too cute! Thanks for the recipe and idea. Will definitely pass this on to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Frog Cupcakes

Have a hopping good time with frosted frog cupcakes.

Frog Cupcakes

These big-eyed cuties are perfect for kids' birthdays.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States