Frog Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I made these for my mom's bake sale, and they came out cute - time consuming - but cute. I probably won't make them again though (no bad reason I just won't)I did have a few problems with the marshmallows not standing up, but that was all. I used M&M's for the eyes, and made my colored sugar with the Colored Sugar recipe from this site so I wouldn't have to go buy some. Can't wait to hear how they sell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This was not nearly as hard as other reviewers commented. It took me about 1/2 hour to decorate with the help of my 2 year old. He loved the frogs for his birthday cupcakes. Very easy, I used black decorator gel for the eyes instead of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I just made these for my 4 year old daughters preschool class. Cute idea, but my problem was getting the marshmellows to say on. Next time I will use the green icing as glue when putting them on. The icing on the cupcake alone didn't hold some very well. This is not a project for little kids to help with. Pretty much to wrap it up, as these are very cute but a major pain in the rear. But us moms do anything for our kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrookeMT
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
What a hit! I did this for my son's 1st birthday and everyone absolutely loved it. I cut out lily pads out of green paper and layed them all over the table then set the frogs on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrookeMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoeRik
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I didn't actually eat one, but I imagine it would taste like any other cupcake. I am giving it five stars because they are so cute. They are extremely time consuming, I only made twelve and it took quite a while. The only thing is I don't think these are good for kids to help with because of the food coloring (I am an adult and even my fingers are stained!) but they are precious and kids will love to eat them, but don't try to get these done in a hurry, they are quite a project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EMMA37
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Adorable! I made them for a friend who is frog crazy. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
These were the cutest frogs!! I cut the large marshmellow in fourths and worked great, so did using a toothpick to dip in the water and sugar. Thank you so much for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jodilee
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Made these for my daughter to take to her preschool class on her 4th bday. Although a little time consuming, we had a blast making them! Used Funfetti batter and vanilla frosting. Red peel licorice for the mouths per other reviews. The kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This was such a cute project. my nine year old sister did this with me, and she loved it. It took a little longer than anticipated, but the outcome is worth it. Absolutely adorable :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pastormaya
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Used chocolate cake and cream cheese frosting. The foil baking cups are a cute touch. Cut the marshmallows in half length-wise, then again half-wise to make 4 half moon shapes per large marshmallow. Used scissors per another reviewers recommendation. Also used toothpicks to dip the marshmallows as suggested. Finally, I used a ziploc bag with the tip cut off to make the froggy smile, as well as to glue on the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pastormaya
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Frog Cupcakes

Have a hopping good time with frosted frog cupcakes.

Frog Cupcakes

These big-eyed cuties are perfect for kids' birthdays.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States