Frikadeller (Danish Meatballs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This is just how my Danish family taught me - except that my Gram would either mix in dillweed, or sprinkle fresh dill over them when serving. Very addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
my family also makes this recipe but we add allspice and make into patties.this has been a christmas tradition for as long as i can remember. my grandmother was from denmark and we have many of her family recipes.labor intense but sooo worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
These are fantastic! We cook them in butter for 2-3 minutes each side. Serve them with parsley potatoes and red cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
The meatballs were excellent!! and true to the recipe... one thing I might add is to make gravy with the drippings... When finished cooking meatballs, remove the meatballs from the pan to a plate with paper towels. Add about 2/3cup of milk in the pan under medium heat... Slowly add a flour paste ( add 2tbs of flour to 4tbs of hot water) and stir with the pan drippings and milk until thicken... The gravy makes the meatballs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
pretty good frikadellar, but you forgot the cloves! A pinch of ground cloves makes all the difference. Also, I use ground beef instead of the veal & it still comes out great. Serve with browned potatoes & red cabbage...yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This is pretty much the same recipe I have. Friends mom makes it every year. She uses 50/50 soda instead of seltzer. Good flavor booster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Subrod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
My husband & I went to Scandinavia for our honeymoon last year, and have been looking for a recipe for the meatballs we loved while over there. This comes very close, but we used the sweet/savory spice suggestions from another recipe here (ginger, nutmeg, allspce). Made a gravy with the pan drippings & a little cream. Ate them with lingonberries that we brought back with us. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Umm I don't know the house didn't really dig into them, I don't know exactly what was wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
NICE!! I make these with beef.. still very tasty and easy! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
DOUBLE THIS RECIPE OR YOU WILL REGRET IT. Especially if there are more than two of you, and one is a teenager. My MIL is Danish, and she makes this as a basic recipe, usually with pork only. I accidentally got some ground lamb instead of veal, and it was delicious! Cannot do wrong with this recipe. Unless you don't make enough, you have been warned! Add whatever you want (dill, cloves, garlic, fennel) and it is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar)

Homemade Swedish meatballs served with a tangy, creamy gravy.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States