Frikadeller (Danish Meatballs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
DOUBLE THIS RECIPE OR YOU WILL REGRET IT. Especially if there are more than two of you, and one is a teenager. My MIL is Danish, and she makes this as a basic recipe, usually with pork only. I accidentally got some ground lamb instead of veal, and it was delicious! Cannot do wrong with this recipe. Unless you don't make enough, you have been warned! Add whatever you want (dill, cloves, garlic, fennel) and it is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
My husband & I went to Scandinavia for our honeymoon last year, and have been looking for a recipe for the meatballs we loved while over there. This comes very close, but we used the sweet/savory spice suggestions from another recipe here (ginger, nutmeg, allspce). Made a gravy with the pan drippings & a little cream. Ate them with lingonberries that we brought back with us. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I thought it was a bit wet... Ended up adding a handful of rolled oats like my mom does in her recipe. Other than that - it was pretty authentic! Both of my parents are Danish....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
These were great, husband loved them, reminded him of his times in Denmark and Sweden while on extended business. Can't wait to try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
NICE!! I make these with beef.. still very tasty and easy! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
The meatballs were excellent!! and true to the recipe... one thing I might add is to make gravy with the drippings... When finished cooking meatballs, remove the meatballs from the pan to a plate with paper towels. Add about 2/3cup of milk in the pan under medium heat... Slowly add a flour paste ( add 2tbs of flour to 4tbs of hot water) and stir with the pan drippings and milk until thicken... The gravy makes the meatballs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
pretty good frikadellar, but you forgot the cloves! A pinch of ground cloves makes all the difference. Also, I use ground beef instead of the veal & it still comes out great. Serve with browned potatoes & red cabbage...yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Umm I don't know the house didn't really dig into them, I don't know exactly what was wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This is just how my Danish family taught me - except that my Gram would either mix in dillweed, or sprinkle fresh dill over them when serving. Very addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
These are fantastic! We cook them in butter for 2-3 minutes each side. Serve them with parsley potatoes and red cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States