Frijoles de Olla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
These are living proof that simplicity can be the best tactic. You can expand on these any way you would like but the basis works fantastic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Durham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Brown beans are a inexpensive, simple meal topped with chopped onion and paired with cornbread. You can speed up the process by using a pressure cooker at 15lbs for about 30 to 45 minutes. Also, be sure to follow the recipe and add the salt later; the beans will not become as tender if you add the salt before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This is very similar to how I cook beans which I use for all my "bean" recipes; chili, refried beans, burritos, etc. Rather than posting another similar recipe on this site, these are the slight changes I make to this recipe: Bacon fat instead of lard definately enhances the flavour. Reduce the water to 5 cups and dump everything cold into a slowcooker either at night and cook overnight on low or in the morning and cook all day. Definately wait to add the salt til the end for nice tender beans. Also, if you pour the beans into canning jars and seal while still piping hot and let them sit on the counter to cool (you'll hear the lid "pop" when they're sealed), they will last for weeks if not longer in your refrigerator. I always cook a lot of beans at once so I have some on hand since I will never use canned beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taunte Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aylmer, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was the ONLY way I was taught to make my frijoles de olla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I like that this recipe only uses 2 cups of beans, the larger batches seem to go to waste in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaKat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This is the only way that pinto beans should be cooked. This recipe appears to be identical to the one my family uses (in their head). In place of lard, we usually use cubed pieces of salt pork, but have also used bacon in a pinch (or vegetable shortening if cooking for our vegetarian friends). Some brands of dry pinto beans contain bits of dirt and such that you will want to make sure don't end up on your dinner plate. To clean, just pour them onto your countertop and make sure that only beans go into your colander. Give them a quick rinse and then pour them into your pot. (My mother also taught me to remove the ones that floated to the top at this point, but she never really gave me a good reason for doing so. And so I still do it.) Also, be sure to check on them periodically to ensure they aren’t running short on water and/or secretly beginning to stick to the bottom of your pan. Leftovers freeze well, but they are also excellent in breakfast tacos. Try mixing a bit in with your scrambled eggs. Or make refried beans with chorizo--and don’t forget to sprinkle some grated cheddar cheese into your taco! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I was surprised at how tasty this turned out. I did use bacon grease instead of the lard. This is a very simple recipe to do and can be easily adapted to personal tastes. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I was always taught to soak the beans first in water overnight. After soaking, I cook these in a crockpot with salt pork. I cut the salt pork into ~ 1/3" strips and fry the salt pork for a bit first. You add the salt pork and the grease to your beans - this just gets more grease out in the water to flavor your beans. As other reviewers have said, add the salt later when the beans are about done. You can dress up the beans if you like by adding onion, cilantro (my favorite), garlic, cumin, mexican flavored chopped, stewed tomatoes, and some beer if you want to make these boracho style. But, these are fantastic done simply as well. Serve this with a batch of cornbread, some green onions and slices of cheddar cheese and you've found heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELPRES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Dadgum good! After many previous failed attempts, I finally made a pot of great tasting beans! The secret must be simplicity. I will use this recipe time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I make this for my family all the time. Instead of lard, I use bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States