Frijoles a la Charra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I hate to spoil the great rating but the amount of jalapenos made these beans taste like fire (and we like our food spicy). The beer (I used Negro Modelo) also made the beans taste bitter. This was a lot of work for relatively bad payoff. I doubt I'd make these again, but if I do, I will only add a little bit of jalapenos, and maybe 1/3 of a beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Yum! We really liked this one. I doubled the recipe and the next day we made bean burritos out of the leftovers. I did not add the beer. I also substituted a can of rotel for the tomatoes and jalapenos. I also followed another reviewer’s advice and used two cubes of beef bouillon. I did not have to soak my beans before putting them in the slow cooker. They cooked about 8 hour’s total. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
awesome recipe! i have made this at least 3 times now and there getting better every time. it's VERY close to my sisters mom-in-law who will not give away her recipe. i made some changes just because i made them on stovetop instead in a slowcooker, i followed some of the suggestions from other reviewers to add 1 tsp of cumin, packet of sazon and omitted the beer. def soaked the beans overnight. Great recipe, thankyou for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
we loved these beans...I will def be making these over and over again...I have told everyone how yummy they are!!! My picky 8 year old had 2 helping...thanks for sharing this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
After reading the other reviews, I was able to collaborate a few shortcuts that saved me valuable time and still ended up with a result myself & my family loved! Instead of cooking the beans from scratch, I used two large cans of pinto beans (same cost; no prep). For the tomatoes, I used one regular can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos (my family thanked me for not making it 'too' spicy; the canned tomatoes had just the right amount of jalapenos). Make sure that you finely chop the onions and cilantro, this way they don't detract from the main ingredient. I also added a 1/2 tsp. cumin & a 1/2 tsp. chili powder. Once all the main ingredients were mixed, I brought it to a boil, covered and then let it simmer for an hour. Also, I ended up adding only 1/2 the beer. Other than that, I followed the recipe as close as possible. It was the perfect side dish to our grilled fish tacos. Wonderful, simple and delicious! Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This was a super simple recipe, easy to use in the slow cooker, but I boiled the beans 3 times before tossing in the cooker because I forgot to soak...still turned out great; I also added canned tomatoes and fresh serano chiles...served with tortillas and cheese. I make Mexican dishes often and this was one I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayngrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Great dish. Be sure to pre-soak the beans overnight. I cut the amount of jalapenos in half, and I'm glad I did - still spicy, but not over-the-top. Subbed one 14.5 oz can of Muir Glen fire-roasted diced tomatoes for the two fresh tomatoes, which worked out perfectly (it's winter - where ya gonna find good tomatoes now?). Smokey from the baon, spicy from the peppers, great with the cilantro, and used 1/2 the amount of beer - Corona - nice touch. Had to cook an extra hour but they were perfect, and even my non-bean-eating kid liked them. Check the date on your beans to make sure they're fresh. Makes a big difference in cook time and how soft they get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This was okay, but not as great as the reviews indicate, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
these beans are excellent. i think people who gave it three stars just don't appreciate frijoles, because this is perfecto...i also took the advice of one reviewer and added in chicken broth ( 1 cup) with the garlic and salt when I began cooking the beans. Also, I soaked my beans for at least 8 hours and they still needed 1 hour on high and about five hours on low until they were done. some people didn't add the beer at the end -- i think it def. added flavor; with the smokiness of the bacon it tasted great. i used a little less than a whole 12 oz. bottle. muy bueno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
These were pretty good but I wasn't a big fan of the beer smell. The taste of the beer disappeared (good thing because I hate beer) but it did enhance the overall flavor of the dish. I followed the recipe pretty closely, the exceptions I made were using fresh jalapeno instead of canned, salt pork instead of bacon and cooking on the stovetop rather than in a slow cooker. I did not soak my beans and they turned out just fine after about 3 hours. I give it 4 stars because although it was good I just wasn't wowed. I expected a more vibrant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States