Frijoles a la Charra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Excellant my family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I would rate higher if I might have used the recipe as is but I made some modifications. I used 1 lb of pinto beans in which I did NOT soak them overnight. I used a crockpot and added my beans (after rinsing, of course), and added 2 ham hocks and covered with water and cooked on HIGH for 8 1/2 hours. At 4 hours I added 1/2 onion and a can of tomatoes. After 8 1/2 hours this was perfect....I added chopped cilantro on top and it made a great meal with cornbread (recipe from The Neeley's (food network) - Honey Cornbread)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This had excellent flavor. I will be honest: I used canned beans in a saucepan instead. Either use quality bacon or chop your cheapo bacon up really finely. I worried unnecessarily about the saltiness before I added the beer. I had to cook it longer to reduce the beer down and next time will add just half a bottle. I liked the heat that the pickled jalapenos added to the beans, though I tended to leave all of them at the bottom of my bowl. I liked that the heat did not overpower the dish but was still detectable. I really enjoyed the flavor in these beans. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was good but I will leave out the beer next time. It was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Great recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scatcat ~ Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bremond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I made this for dinner tonight,and it turned out GREAT! I drained half the water out,after boiling beans for an hour(in a regular pot)on top of the stove. Added beef broth instead of the beer. Added a can of ro-tel to the mix (we like it spicy) instead of the fresh tomatoes. Served with a side salad and corn-bread! A delicious bean dinner : Great meal for snugglin'up after (wink,wink)! HA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Being from Texas let me just say these beans are the real deal! I am sure the recipe is fine exactly as written. However, I made some changes only because I had to work with what I had on hand. I used a ham hock in place of the bacon, added a can of diced tomatoes instead of whole, used chicken broth instead of water and used 2 jalapenos, chopped in place of the can. My husband said they were the best beans he has ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I make this recipe all the time. I take it to work and everyone loves it. One of my favorite recipes on All Recipes!!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanielynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Oh, my gosh, was this good. I plan to make this many times in the future. I've never cooked dry beans, but I figured this seemed pretty easy to start with. I ended up soaking the beans for 24 hours (I wasn't in any hurry) and then cooked them overnight because I didn't want to leave the crockpot on when I was away at work. When I got home that evening, I turned the crockpot on to heat while I fixed some rice and Mexican Grilled Chicken from the site. I used 26 oz of beef stock instead of the beer , added 2 tsp (2 cubes) of bouillion, and a can of tomatoes with green chilies instead of the fresh tomatoes and canned jalapenos. It was so delicious (and I'm not a bean person, take it from me :D ). I woke up in the middle of the night and I could smell the wonderfulness coming from the kitchen. It was perfectly salted and, because I soaked the beans for so long and then cooked it for about 9 hours on low, the beans were thick and melted like butter. You have to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kt_simms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Really good and the flavors are perfect. I did the quick-soak method (bring the beans to a boil and then let sit for 1 hr) the day I cooked the beans and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States