Frijoles a la Charra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Delicious, used Negro Modelo beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I soaked the beans overnight and, knowing that adding salt to dried beans when cooking them can cause them not to soften, I ignored the instructions to add salt to the beans with the garlic. Other than that I followed the directions to the letter. After cooking on high for one hour, and on low for four hours, the beans were still quite hard. After another hour on low, they were still hard. I put the beans in a soup pot on top of the stove and simmered them for an hour; they were still hard. I added the beer and cilantro and cooked for another hour. They were not done but I had to go to bed so I put them in the fridge. The next day I tasted them and did not care for the flavor so I decided to just call it quits. I know that beans will take longer to cook depending how fresh they are, but I they should not take over 3 extra hours. My advice to anyone choosing to make this recipe is, since so many people have had issues with the beans not getting done even after soaking them, make them a day before you plan on serving them just in case they do not soften up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I left out the beer and I used rotel canned tomatoes/green chiles instead of the tomatoes & peppers, and I soaked the beans first. I had to cook the beans several hours longer than called for to get them done. By that time the tomatoes had pretty much disintegrated. The finished product tasted good but not much different than my ham and beans recipe, not really like a mexican side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I thought the broth was the best thing about this – it is delicious! The beans themselves never got soft enough for my liking, although they are edible. If you are looking for plain refried beans this is not it – the flavor will be too strong (try Refried Beans without the Refry on this site). I have a few tips based on my experience. First, be sure to soak your beans overnight even though the recipe doesn’t say so, otherwise they will never get soft. Cooking time/setting – Cooking time and high/low setting will probably need to be adjusted to your crockpot. The beans need to be at a simmer/low boil for several hours to get soft. My beans weren’t simmering on low so I had to turn up the heat and still cooked for 6+ hours. Also, your beans will cook faster if you use hot water at the beginning, and if your beer is not cold when you add it. Amount of dried beans – I found that 1 lb of dry beans is equal to roughly 2.5 cups. Beer - if you don’t like beer to start out with then just skip it in this recipe. If you are using beer, only use one that you like the taste of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Try using a smoked turkey leg (or 2 depending on size) Remove skin, cook until meat is ready to fall off. Remove, cool, pull off the meat and return the meat to the beans. Tastes and looks like big chunks of ham with so much less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I have been making this recipe for several years. It is my "go to" recipe when I make Mexican food of any kind. The only change I make is that I substitute a 14.5 ounce can of diced tomatoes instead of the fresh tomatoes. I always have canned tomatoes on hand, and I only really like fresh tomatoes in the summer when they are in season where I live. Also, I never soak my beans beforehand, and they always turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
My fav Mexican restaurant serves a cup of bean soup when you sit down. By soup I mean with a broth consistency. I tried to copy a few times and while taste was ok still wasn't like they served. Found this recipe and do a bit different but just for personal preference. Soak beans, drain, cook at simmer so they don't break. Drain again and add ingredients, simmer for half hour. I do swap beer for chicken stock and like to add ham if I have some hanging around. Also use a fresh jalapeño or two instead of canned. And as usual, I skip the salt. Double up to freeze some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Very good beans! My husband I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. It's exactly what I was looking for and turned out even better than expected. I altered the recipe just slightly. I didn't use a full can of beer. To me, it would have been too soupy. I added a bit more salt and used Canadian bacon instead of regular bacon. (I did this to cut down on fat.) It added great flavor, and I'll probably always use that instead. Finally, I added more jalapeno peppers than suggested because we really like a lot of heat. I soaked the beans overnight and cooked them on high for 1 hour and then all day on low (about 6 or 7 hours). I'm not sure they'd be done after only 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was tasty but next time I will add more tomatoes and more jalapenos. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sea Bass a la Michele

Roasted sea bass and potatoes with sherry vinegar and smoked paprika vinaigrette.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States