Frijoles a la Charra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
These took a little longer than expected. Next time I will leave myself 6 hrs or more in order to ensure they are done in time. BUT they turned out great! I only had pre-minced garlic so I used 2.5 tsp instead of chopping the garlic cloves. I will make these again to show off my skills to the family : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACII24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mariposa, California, USA
Living In: New Athens, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I made this yesterday and it turned out pretty good. I did use fresh jalapenos, a small (7oz) bottle of Corona and a can of diced tomatoes instead. I also substituted Knorr chicken with tomato boullian for some of the water. The beans I had must have been fresh since it only took about 3 hours on High and 2 hours on Low in crock pot. I was worried about the beans after reading a lot of the reviews, that's why so long on high. This all tasted very very good but I was looking more for the Boracho (sp) beans I used to get at some restaurants in San Antonio. I'll keep looking. But I'll use this recipe again. The beans were that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
this was ok. I wasn't too big on the beer favor. I would leave that out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
These were very tasty. I used fresh jalapenos instead of canned. I cooked them about an hour longer than it calls for to be comfortable with the bean tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
These were great! My husbands grandmother wants me to make them for every potluck now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERNJOY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Delicious, used Negro Modelo beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I soaked the beans overnight and, knowing that adding salt to dried beans when cooking them can cause them not to soften, I ignored the instructions to add salt to the beans with the garlic. Other than that I followed the directions to the letter. After cooking on high for one hour, and on low for four hours, the beans were still quite hard. After another hour on low, they were still hard. I put the beans in a soup pot on top of the stove and simmered them for an hour; they were still hard. I added the beer and cilantro and cooked for another hour. They were not done but I had to go to bed so I put them in the fridge. The next day I tasted them and did not care for the flavor so I decided to just call it quits. I know that beans will take longer to cook depending how fresh they are, but I they should not take over 3 extra hours. My advice to anyone choosing to make this recipe is, since so many people have had issues with the beans not getting done even after soaking them, make them a day before you plan on serving them just in case they do not soften up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I left out the beer and I used rotel canned tomatoes/green chiles instead of the tomatoes & peppers, and I soaked the beans first. I had to cook the beans several hours longer than called for to get them done. By that time the tomatoes had pretty much disintegrated. The finished product tasted good but not much different than my ham and beans recipe, not really like a mexican side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I thought the broth was the best thing about this – it is delicious! The beans themselves never got soft enough for my liking, although they are edible. If you are looking for plain refried beans this is not it – the flavor will be too strong (try Refried Beans without the Refry on this site). I have a few tips based on my experience. First, be sure to soak your beans overnight even though the recipe doesn’t say so, otherwise they will never get soft. Cooking time/setting – Cooking time and high/low setting will probably need to be adjusted to your crockpot. The beans need to be at a simmer/low boil for several hours to get soft. My beans weren’t simmering on low so I had to turn up the heat and still cooked for 6+ hours. Also, your beans will cook faster if you use hot water at the beginning, and if your beer is not cold when you add it. Amount of dried beans – I found that 1 lb of dry beans is equal to roughly 2.5 cups. Beer - if you don’t like beer to start out with then just skip it in this recipe. If you are using beer, only use one that you like the taste of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Try using a smoked turkey leg (or 2 depending on size) Remove skin, cook until meat is ready to fall off. Remove, cool, pull off the meat and return the meat to the beans. Tastes and looks like big chunks of ham with so much less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States