Frijoles a la Charra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Michael Martin
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Started this last night with the overnight soak of the beans and then made it with all the ingredients except the jalapenos...which I will definitely add next time. Came out great...and we really need it as tonight is a very cold night perfect for a hot steaming bowl of Frijoles a la Charra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
We omit the beer, and we LOVE this recipe! Freezes well, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
i loved this recipe the only thing i changed was i omitted the bacon and added beef sausage cut up and cooked with beans. Was scared to put to much jalapeno in it and didn't put enough but will diffentely make this again my husband is hispanic and loved them. Said it was as good as his mamma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Very good. I didn't have any beer, but still tasted fabulous. Especially the bacon. Loved the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Nuy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This recipe is great! A few things you need to know: Soak the beans in water overnight and throw away the water the next day. Use 2 fresh jalapenos vs. the canned jalapenos. Those are pickled and taste different. Use 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken stock Throw in 2 whole bay leaves Add the salt and the bacon in the beginning as advised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I gave this recipe four stars only because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I added the beef bouillon cubes as others suggested, and I omitted the beer, per hubby's request. I also used turkey bacon only because that is all I had, and soaked the beans overnights. Because I doubled the recipe, the cooking time was a little longer. The charro beans taste amazing and taste just like the beans at all the Mexican restaurants in Houston. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Well I`m not to sure how to rate this recipe, I dont know what it is suppose to taste like but here goes! I love pinto beans so I figered it would be a no brainer; almost, I added everything and even took some others advice with some chili and cumin it has a nice spicy taste (I LIKE)and the beans are cooked nicely. Definately a south western/mexican dish, not so sure I wil make again unless I can pair them with another dish....to be continued!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I have been looking for a recipe on here just like this!! Thought I was going to have to write my own. Was not looking forward to that:( Thank you Kim! ! My MIL thought me how to make these beans. She does add chorizo and ham, but everything else is the same. I don't use the CP, usually use the stove or Low oven, which is basically a CP. These ROCK!! Always get rave reviews from my crew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Recipe as-is tastes a little bland. I've made this twice now. The second trial I ended up adding Penzy's "Arizona Dreaming" plus cumin and chili powder. That did the trick for our family. Do yourself a favor and only add beer you enjoy drinking, since it really stands out in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I'm going to give this recipe 4+ stars, mainly for the lack of direction on prepping the dried beans. The taste of charro beans is very personal, and it varies from region to region. I was leery of 3.5 ounces of jalapeno peppers, so I put in a 4 ounce can of mild chopped green chilies and 1 fresh jalapeno, minced and seeded. This is enough heat for us. Other than that, I followed the recipe ingredients, but I par-boiled my beans and prepared them on the stove top, adding the salt last, and I did not saute the chopped onions, but put them directly into the beans, saving us the extra fat calories. I also added 1 tsp. ground cumin and a few turns of the peppermill. I don't usually add tomatoes to my beans, so this will be a nice change. Thanks, Kim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sea Bass a la Michele

Roasted sea bass and potatoes with sherry vinegar and smoked paprika vinaigrette.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States