Frijoles a la Charra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I am not a bean lover. Growing up you couldn't pay me to eat beans. Today, they are not my first choice in a meal. My mother loved beans. I would eat this again in an instant. I wish my mother were still alive so I could make it for her. I made this because my husband loves beans and Latin-influences. I added hot chirozo and one can of vegetable broth. I used a handful of fresh cilantro, half a handful of fresh parsley, a can a diced tomatoes with chills, a sweet onion, the bacon and its grease, and bud light with lime. I soaked the beans overnight and still had to cook them on high for about 6 hours. I added most of the ingredients in the beginning then the beer with fresh herbs halfway through. This is delicious and I will make again. Oh, I made Spanish rice. Pay hub mixed this with the rice, added olives, and was in love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I made these with rotel instead of fresh tomatoes and they were perfect! I've missed frijoles a la charra living on the east coast and these hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby Rojas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I followed this to the letter and had beans that were hard as rocks at the end of the cooking time. Not everyone knows to soak first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Instead of bacon i used pork skins, was very good recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edinburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I don't know if I did something wrong, but I followed this recipe and got bland beans. I soaked the beans for 10 hours and then boiled them for an hour before sticking it all in a crock pot and my beans still weren't done after 10 hours. I may try this again but without the beer, we used Coors Light and the beer taste was too distinct for me (beer loving husband enjoyed it though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael Martin
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Started this last night with the overnight soak of the beans and then made it with all the ingredients except the jalapenos...which I will definitely add next time. Came out great...and we really need it as tonight is a very cold night perfect for a hot steaming bowl of Frijoles a la Charra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
We omit the beer, and we LOVE this recipe! Freezes well, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
i loved this recipe the only thing i changed was i omitted the bacon and added beef sausage cut up and cooked with beans. Was scared to put to much jalapeno in it and didn't put enough but will diffentely make this again my husband is hispanic and loved them. Said it was as good as his mamma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Very good. I didn't have any beer, but still tasted fabulous. Especially the bacon. Loved the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Nuy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This recipe is great! A few things you need to know: Soak the beans in water overnight and throw away the water the next day. Use 2 fresh jalapenos vs. the canned jalapenos. Those are pickled and taste different. Use 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken stock Throw in 2 whole bay leaves Add the salt and the bacon in the beginning as advised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States