Frijoles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2002
Brandi says tis recipe will take about 6 hours. Well they are going into hour #9 and are still hard as a rock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This is the best bean recipe I have ever tried! I think the trick is to soak the beans overnight first. I used four pieces of already cooked bacon, which added a great smokey flavor to the beans. I left the crock pot on LOW for 10 hours, while I was at work, and when I got home, they were perfect! I mashed them up, added a little salt, some shredded cheese, and watched everyone gobble them up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Wonderful flavor and texture, Brandi! The reviewer who had hard beans after ten hours, probably forgot to soak overnight. Mine were done in 8.5 hours in the crockpot on low, after soaking all night long.Whirred them around in my food processor and Voila! Better than store bought and more flavorful than restaurant.Thanks Brandi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
Great recipe and easy to make. I think it could use just a bit of chili or burrito seasoning, but other than that, excellent. Everyone in the family liked this recipe much better than canned beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. I made this for a potluck at work and people raved about them. I will make these many times! I cooked them on low in crock pot for the time in the recipe, and they were done just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I forgot to buy dry beans at the store, so I experimented with canned pinto beans. I used two cans of beans, added the rest of the ingredients and simmered on my stove top for about an hour. I mashed as normal, and the flavor was great. I also forgot to add the sugar. I will try with the dry beans, but for a quick version it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
This is a great use for all of my dried pinto beans. I now see why pintos are used for refried beans -- after soaking overnight and cooking all day on low, they mashed quite beautifully. The second time making this, I wanted to make it totally fat free. I omitted the bacon. After mashing, I added 1/8 teaspoon Liquid Smoke (could have done more), a small can of green chilies and 1 teaspoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Schmelzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
This recipe was so good. I used my food processor instead of the potatoe masher. Next time I will add mor of the liquid to them. When they where frist processed they were great but after the sat for a while they got real dry. They have a great flavor to them. Also I didn't take out the bacon. I processed it with the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
Great!! I am saying that because I have the hardest time making these beans!! I have tried everything and they never come out good..till now. My husband (mexican) even gave me a thumbs up!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I am just learning to cook and was nervous about making homemade beans, but they were great. I did not drain the water- just mashed it up and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States