Frijoles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
My husband exclaimed "Wow, you finally did it!" I said "Nope, allrecipes did." I rinsed beans well the night before and soaked them overnight. I cooked them in the same water I soaked in. Other than that - I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Donald, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I believe this recipe should be edited to reflect what all the other reviewers have said and what I will repeat. Do not expect these to be ready in 6 hours if you put dry beans directly into the slow cooker without presoaking. I did the quick soak method by bringing them to a boil (uncovered) then remove from heat and let them sit, covered, for an hour. Then I went on with the recipe. Even with that, they were not ready in 6 hours. They really need to go overnight. Just start them the day before you need them, let them cook all day, then turn the slow cooker down to low and let them go overnight. They will be perfect in the morning. I did not fish the bacon out as it pretty much just melted into the bean mixture. I used my immersion blender to puree them which worked great, leaving some of the beans whole for a nice texture. Be sure to add salt or they will be tasteless. Add in a couple teaspoons while they cook and then taste and add more if needed after. Also, I scaled up to use an entire bag of beans as I didn't want to use just 1-1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
As other reviewers have noted, these beans do need to be soaked overnight or do the quick soak method if you don't have the overnight time. My one substitution is I use cured salt pork . I cut it up uncooked into chunks and cook it in the beans. Wonderful flavor without tasting like bacon and beans. I also find that even with a good overnight soak, I typically let these beans cook for about 8 hours. I have an older crockpot though, so that may be a contributing factor. My family loves these beans and I am frequently asked for the recipe if I bring them to a potluck or serve them at a barbecue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I LOVE Frijoles..but had no idea how to make them. Didn't look at the comments..so didn't know I had to soak the beans...I will give them a 1 star for a nice smell in the house.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I used this as my first crock pot refried bean recipe, I had been using bacon drippings in my pan fried and this seemed a better way. I used a little more water for this than regular beans as I like my refrieds creamy, I added the garlic and onion after I mashed the beans and then continued cooking for another hour and I pan fried the bacon and added the drippings with the onion and garlic. I used the fried bacon for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
These beans are perfect. I have made them several times and no longer buy canned refried beans. Instead of bacon I season mine with cumin and a little chili powder and cayenne, sometimes adding a dash of canola oil. I have read that adding sugar while cooking dry beans will cause the skins to stay tough so I recommend waiting until the beans are soft to add any sweetener, if using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I have been looking for a good recipe for "refried beans" for a long time and have finally found one that is great. The only thing that I change was I added some cumin to give it a little more flavor. I will certainly make them again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Thanks for the great recipe, Brandi! For those who said the beans never softened...if the dried beans are old, they WILL NOT soften. I had 2 bags of beans that had been forgotten in the pantry for a long time. I tried cooking them in a crock pot after soaking overnight, but they never softened. After 18 hours in the crock pot, I gave up and threw them out. I usually use salt pork instead of bacon when cooking my beans. I freeze bacon drippings in 1 tablespoon batches all the time and if I don't have salt pork or bacon, I use the frozen bacon drippings for seasoning. I also add Cumin when cooking my beans. I have read that you should wait until the last minute to add salt, because if you add salt early in the cooking process, the skins of the beans can be tough. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
You have to soak the beans overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I've never been able to perfect refried beans until this recipe came along. If nothing else, I found the slow-cooker to be revolutionary in the way that I attempt to prepare refried beans. I believe my main difficulties with this meal come from living at 7200 feet, so if you're a high altitude cook, the slow cooker just might be your answer for tender beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States