Frijoles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I cut back the amount of butter but it still just tasted too buttery for me. My boyfriend liked them and they weren't too difficult to make but I'll pass on them in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loribelle Chan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I made these fat free because that is what I am used to from the store. I omitted the butter, and added some cumin and a little chili powder for extra flavor. I also added the cheese in the beans instead of on top so my picky non-cheese eating child would eat it. It worked out fine and all loved the beans. I froze the extra in quart sized freezer bags to use as needed for recipes. If you buy the beans in bulk it is less expensive and tastier to make these yourself and freeze them instead of buying the stuff in the cans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
use less pepper! my mouth is burning. it's pretty good. i will try some soyrizo in it next time. it's missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Delicious! I cooked them in the crockpot on low for 8 hours while at work. I added some chili powder and cumin. This was a simple recipe with excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Okay, so I've tried to make this one twice this week already. I checked the recipe several times and all I can figure is I must need to COVER the pot while simmering because the beans are still way too chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greengirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Delicious! I can't stop eating them. Nutritious, delicious, and inexpensive - what more could you want? I added some chipotle Tabasco and the juice from a jar of jalapenos for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I had never made refried beans before and this was a great place for me to start. I have made a version of this three times now and each time used a different *oil* I used butter the first time, bacon grease the second time and vegetable oil the third time. I have come to the conclusion that it is just a matter of personal taste preference. Everyone really liked all three. I think I will probably use vegetable oil from now on because it is the least expensive. So glad I tried it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
We really didn't care for these. The butter flavor was just really strange. We are not used it butter flavored pinto beans. If you are this might work for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDENICOL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
These were okay, but lacked flavor. I added a lot of extra spices. Also, The texture was sort of weird - I cooked the beans for 3 1/2 hours after soaking overnight and they still seemed a little under-done. ***update the next day - I just made enchiladas with the leftover beans and they were incredible. No weird texture or anything. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Delish. I made an error when cooking the beans, added to much cooking water to start, but was able to fix it by adding one can of refried beans. Next time I will use water just to cover the beans while cooking. Made for my bunco group, and got raves. Will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selma, California, USA
Living In: Ripon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States