Friendship Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
My mom made this tea all the time. We used to call it Russian Tea. I used one packet of orange and one packet of lemon Kool-Aid along with two cups of sugar in place of the pre-sweetened drink mixes. Tastes good at a fraction of the cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
This has become one of my favorite tea recipes. It's best around the holidays, but I've been making it year round as well. I usually add a small package of either apricot or peach gelatin to the mix along with a box of red hot candies. Definitely gift giving material. Thanks Julie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2000
Three out of my four children loved this tea. I thought it was great for a change!! I made a large batch of tea mix and made a batch in my crock pot for New Years. Crock pot kept it warm and ready for everyone to enjoy!!! Great crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This is an excellent recipe. This is very similar to Russian Tea. To cut down on costs I sub a package of Kool Aid plus sugar instead of the sweetened Kool Aid. For the poster that had trouble getting hers to dissolve, you can place the instant tea powder in a blender or food processor to grind it finer. This is great for gifts. Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This is so good! I was disappointed when I packaged it all up into jars to give away as gifts, and had none left. I couldn't find plain instant tea powder, only sweetened lemon flavored tea powder, so I used less lemonade powder. It was still delicious and not overly sweet like one would think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
I made a huge batch last night to give as a hostess present and some friends. It was easy to prepare. I put in some decorative jars tied with ribbon and a little hang tag explaining what it was and how to prepare. They went over well this morning. I did try some last night and I didn't think it was sweet enough for my taste but everyone can adjust to their liking. Used generic Walmart brand ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This is excellent. I changed it a little bit (thanks EEASERI!): ½ cup instant tea powder, 1 1/4 cups sugar, 1 package of unsweetened Lemonade Kool-Aid, 1 package of unsweetened Orange Kool-Aid, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, and ½ teaspoon cloves. And I ground it up in the blender. This is awesome. I expected to need to add more sugar as I tend to like my tea a little sweeter, but it is really good as is. Next time, I think I'll try the much-recommended addition of Red Hots. The nice thing is that extra sugar can be added to the mug after stirring in the tea mix if desired. Thanks for sharing, Julie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
We've given this as Christmas gifts for years and we get requests for refills all the time. Kick it up a notch by adding red hot candies. Takes a little longer to brew but adds a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
The taste is good - but I can't get the Tea to dissolve! I have mixed it with hot water, from a coffee pot and with boiling water - and I still end up with instant tea in the bottom of my cup. I used to drink tea like this at my MOPS meetings, and I never had issues with the tea not dissolving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
I just love this recipe. Good enough for everyday as well as gift giving. Easy enough for my children to make a presents for their teachers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States