Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I just made three jars for gifts and they look great! As for the jar problem, Classico pasta sauce comes in 26 oz heavy mason jars.(Just soak off the label). They are almost square which shows off the mix beautifully, plus a regular mason lid, metal or plastic, fits perfectly. I use these jars for canning since they're so pretty and right between pint and quart size. I also put the pasta in small plastic bags and knotted them to prevent spilling when removing from the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
We're giving soup and brownie mixes for gifts this year and LOVE this soup! It has excellent flavor and texture (my husband is a chef, so we are particular about our dining). We only made a few modifications to the recipe--reduced rice to 1/4 cup (we used Jasmine rice), reduced tomatoes to 1 14.5 oz. can (28 oz. was just too much-- it overpowered the rest of the ingredients), and used 1 tbsp fresh minced garlic instead of garlic powder. Perfect! I know it will be a big hit with our friends and family this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
WOW! I made 36 of these for Christmas gifts(Buy stock in Walmart as that's where I got all my ingredients and the jars :). I took others suggestions and used 2 8 oz. cans of tomato sauce and 1 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes. I gave the soup mix along with a wooden spoon, the can of tomatoes and 2 cans of tomato sauce in a gift bag with a box of corn muffin mix. (The only thing the recipient had to provide was the ground beef, garlic powder, pepper and water). Needless to say, it was a HUGE hit and everyone that has tried this LOVES it. This recipe makes a ton, but those that had company over the holidays appreciated this no fuss meal that served a gang THANKS SO MUCH! Again, my dogs got a sampling in their dog food which they gave 5 stars to also. GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quilting Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
I made up three jars to give as gifts and they're SO pretty. I used quart-sized jars and it all fit nicely...but not snug. Put the bouillon granules at the bottom, then the peas. It looks better. I could have made four gift jars at least, but I decided to make a batch for my house tonight. It's super easy to put together and it's delicious. It made way more than my family could eat, so I'm freezing a couple quarts for my up-coming maternity leave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruhshellmc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This soup is delicious! I will definitely make these as christmas gifts! I made a few changes to the recipe: Used 1x14.5oz can chopped tomatoes (like others suggested), used 1/4 cup onion soup mix instead of onion flakes, substituted garlic salt instead of garlic powder, and used bite size flank steak/chopped steak instead of ground beef. No added salt or seasoning needed once all done! Great fast and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
I gave this recipe 5 star rating only if you eliminate one can of tomato paste and add two cans tomato sauce...much smoother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
Best soup I've ever made! Very healthy and hearty for a cold, rainy day! The only thing I would do different is use only 1 can (14 oz.) tomatoes and use tomato sauce instead of tomato paste. Otherwise, it's very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This soup was so good! My three year old asked for seconds! I followed other reviewer's advice and added fresh minced garlic, 1/4 cup rice and a 14.5oz can of diced tomatoes. The leftovers were even tastier! I served this with parmesan cheese and crescent rolls. I will definitely make this again, and share it with friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Patrick Afb, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2003
This is BEAUTIFUL gift that tastes really great! I used to be a teacher and one of my students gave me the soup mix as a gift for Christmas and it was fantastic! It was almost too pretty to eat, but I am so glad that I made it and even happier that I found the recipe on the net so that I can make it for others and share what has become one of my favorite soup recipes:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISLANDGIRLEJFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Very good soup! I'm giving these as gifts and I hope that my recipants enjoy it as much as we did. I did change the recipe to have 1 15oz can diced tomatoes and 1 15oz can tomtato sauce instead of paste. Thanks Bea for the easy dinner and great gift idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States