Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was awesome! We made about 15 of them for Christmas presents and got rave reviews from all our friends. One friend told me she made it with sausage instead of ground beef and it was delicious. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I gave this a Christmas presents to family and coworkers. I didn't have time to test it myself ahead of time but went with it because the reviews are good and so far I have had several requests for the recipe. I did make the few small change that everyone else suggested (tomato sauce instead of pasted) and a smaller can of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
good, but way, way, WAY too much salt. The amount of bullion cubes was just too much for that amount of water. I counted about 15 for 12 cups of water. we needed to add a ton more water. I recommend eating in it one night as the pasta gets mushy quickly. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love my kids
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This is a healthy, hearty soup. I am considering using brown rice next time, and possibly whole wheat pasta. We really enjoyed this soup. I also made cannisters of it with my daycare kids for Christmas gifts. They turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I received this as a gift, and it was very tasty. It really thickened up and made a nice hearty soup. Next time I'll use the basic soup recipe and add some vegetables (cabbage, carrot.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I can't rate this recipe based on flavor, so I'm rating it based on it's attractiveness as a gift. I couldn't find the 1-1/2 pint jars, so I used 1-pint jars, reduced the amount of rice by a tiny bit, and tied the baggie of pasta on the outside of the jar. It was a beautiful presentation and my gift recipients really liked the idea. I also mixed up baggies of Easy Beer Bread Mix (from this site) to give with the soup mix so they would have a complete meal ready to mix up. UPDATE (1/26/09) - My parents received one of these from me as a Christmas gift. They called last night to tell me they had made the soup and, to use my father's words, "It is fantastic! I ate two bowls and was sorry I was too full for a third!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I took the risk of giving this soup as a gift before trying it myself...based on all the rave reviews I figured I could. I put on the recipe card to use one can tomato sauce and one can tomato chunks. I also used veggie broth instead of beef, and left out the rice, as rice and noodles seemed redundant. I doubled the pasta instead. Well, I finally made it myself, and it was really good! Not as good as fresh soup of course, but better than canned. And so easy! One thing: I got 1 liter (1 quart) jars, and they were too big. I had to stuff tissue paper in the top to make it all fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parjata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was very good soup. I followed other reviewers tips and used tomato sauce and a 15 ounce can of tomatoes. It looked very pretty in the jar with the bullion at the bottom as some reviewers recommended. I would have given it 5 strs, but it was not "knock your socks off good".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane M. Pierce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I put this together this Christmas - I bought cute 1/2 quart jars from Old Time Pottery for $1.50; put the ingredients in the jar; wrapped it in Christmas - themed basket wrap with a pretty bow and a spoon (4 for $1) and gave it as gifts for teachers and neighbors. They turned out really pretty - do so hope the soup is good; as I didn't try it. But it really made a pretty gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Great recipe for gifts. I cut the recipe in half for about 4 servings (much more manageable for smaller families). I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder and used Acini Di Pepe pasta instead of barley pearls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States