Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I just made three jars for gifts and they look great! As for the jar problem, Classico pasta sauce comes in 26 oz heavy mason jars.(Just soak off the label). They are almost square which shows off the mix beautifully, plus a regular mason lid, metal or plastic, fits perfectly. I use these jars for canning since they're so pretty and right between pint and quart size. I also put the pasta in small plastic bags and knotted them to prevent spilling when removing from the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
I wanted to try the recipe at home before giving it as Xmas gifts this year. My family thought it was excellent. Now that I want to give the soup mix as gifts, I'm having trouble located the 1-12 pint jars; all I am able to find are pint quart size jars? Any suggestions???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSTEPE
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
I gave this as a gift to co-workers last Christmas, and they all appreciated it -- especially since I gave it a week before Christmas, which is usually fast-food time for all of us on the go. Also, I went to Big Lot's and bought cheap but cute jars with air-tight lids to layer the soup mix in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
I made this soup this after noon and actually tried to use a quart sized jar (didn't pay attention to the instructions that state to use a 1 1/2 pint jar) Then, I just used that mix to make the soup. The soup is fabulous and would love to give as gifts but I've never seen a jar that size, anyone know where to purchase them?! Anyway, the soup is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARATHERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
This is BEAUTIFUL gift that tastes really great! I used to be a teacher and one of my students gave me the soup mix as a gift for Christmas and it was fantastic! It was almost too pretty to eat, but I am so glad that I made it and even happier that I found the recipe on the net so that I can make it for others and share what has become one of my favorite soup recipes:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirlejfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I sure do like to have this soup mix on hand. I sometimes like to use chicken bouillon powder instead of beef. I to have given this for gifts. I makes a great wedding shower gift
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
I've made this for the Daycare where I work. I pureed the diced tomatoes and added more water and the kids loved it. The educators all asked for the recipe. It was a hit. Thanks Bea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Good, but too thick. I changed the recipe to tomato sauce instead of diced tomatoes as others had suggested. Also my cooking time was longer then what was stated. Looks great in the jar! I gave these as Christmas gifts one year and everyone thought it was great tasting too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Made jars and gave as Christmas presents, after I made the soup myself. Soup is very good, made so much I was able to give some away and freeze some also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Very good soup! I'm giving these as gifts and I hope that my recipants enjoy it as much as we did. I did change the recipe to have 1 15oz can diced tomatoes and 1 15oz can tomtato sauce instead of paste. Thanks Bea for the easy dinner and great gift idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States