Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
I made this soup this after noon and actually tried to use a quart sized jar (didn't pay attention to the instructions that state to use a 1 1/2 pint jar) Then, I just used that mix to make the soup. The soup is fabulous and would love to give as gifts but I've never seen a jar that size, anyone know where to purchase them?! Anyway, the soup is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARATHERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
This is BEAUTIFUL gift that tastes really great! I used to be a teacher and one of my students gave me the soup mix as a gift for Christmas and it was fantastic! It was almost too pretty to eat, but I am so glad that I made it and even happier that I found the recipe on the net so that I can make it for others and share what has become one of my favorite soup recipes:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISLANDGIRLEJFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I sure do like to have this soup mix on hand. I sometimes like to use chicken bouillon powder instead of beef. I to have given this for gifts. I makes a great wedding shower gift
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
I've made this for the Daycare where I work. I pureed the diced tomatoes and added more water and the kids loved it. The educators all asked for the recipe. It was a hit. Thanks Bea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Good, but too thick. I changed the recipe to tomato sauce instead of diced tomatoes as others had suggested. Also my cooking time was longer then what was stated. Looks great in the jar! I gave these as Christmas gifts one year and everyone thought it was great tasting too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Made jars and gave as Christmas presents, after I made the soup myself. Soup is very good, made so much I was able to give some away and freeze some also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Very good soup! I'm giving these as gifts and I hope that my recipants enjoy it as much as we did. I did change the recipe to have 1 15oz can diced tomatoes and 1 15oz can tomtato sauce instead of paste. Thanks Bea for the easy dinner and great gift idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
I made up three jars to give as gifts and they're SO pretty. I used quart-sized jars and it all fit nicely...but not snug. Put the bouillon granules at the bottom, then the peas. It looks better. I could have made four gift jars at least, but I decided to make a batch for my house tonight. It's super easy to put together and it's delicious. It made way more than my family could eat, so I'm freezing a couple quarts for my up-coming maternity leave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruhshellmc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
We're giving soup and brownie mixes for gifts this year and LOVE this soup! It has excellent flavor and texture (my husband is a chef, so we are particular about our dining). We only made a few modifications to the recipe--reduced rice to 1/4 cup (we used Jasmine rice), reduced tomatoes to 1 14.5 oz. can (28 oz. was just too much-- it overpowered the rest of the ingredients), and used 1 tbsp fresh minced garlic instead of garlic powder. Perfect! I know it will be a big hit with our friends and family this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Soup was great! My wife and I really enjoyed it. The only changes I made were to substitute 2 eight ounce cans of tomato sauce for the 6 ounce can of tomato paste and I substituted one-third a cup of beef base for the beef boullion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jsikes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alleene, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States