Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
I wasn't so sure about this soup, not being a fan of split peas and lentils, but Oh WOW!! This was soo great! I decreased the water by about a half a quart, like some one mentioned earlier, and I loved the thick consistancy. I substituted buffalo meat for the beef, used tiny star pasta, and use a 14oz can of crushed tomatoes w/spicy chili peppers, and a 14oz can of crushed tomato with garlic, also used tomato sauce instead of paste. This was sooo good!! I'm glad I tested out the recipe b/f sending out the gifts, b/c I doubt I would have made it otherwise. And now I'm putting this in my fav recipe rotation! I also could only find the 1 pint jars and the 1 quart, so I think I'll try using the pint and having the pasta in a little bag atached w/ a ribbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolita Contreras Murrah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I love this as a gift idea! Everyone gets candy and cookies at this time of year, and I love having a healthier option for people (which fits my personality). I love how pretty it looks, layered in a jar. I added a tsp. of chili powder (not spicy, just flavorful) with the Italian seasoning, which kicked up the color in the jar. I also had a very rough time finding jars. I finally found Pint sized canning jars at ONE grocery store in town. Then I put the pasta in a Christmas "treat bag" with a twist tie and tied it to the jar, along with the recipe card, with a Christmas ribbon. They are very cute. The only *bad* thing about this soup is how it looks after it's made. That is not appealing at all, but it tastes good and both of my boys (4 years old) ate it all....which is saying something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
The first time I made Friendship Soup, I gave it a low review because the tomato paste made it unappetizing and I didn't like the combination of both the rice AND the pasta. I made it again last night by using an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce instead of paste, a 14.5 oz. can of Italian style diced tomatoes, no rice and double the pasta (whole wheat spirals), and it was a winner with my best friend, boyfriend, and me. I didn't have bouillion on hand so I used 2 packets of onion soup mix instead and seasoned it accordingly. I also couldn't find barley, so I doubled the lentils. I served it with cornbread, but garlic bread would be wonderful too. I could see this recipe being a wonderful starter for minestrone soup -- just add your own carrots, zucchini, potatoes, spinach, whatever. Yum :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Magnolia, Arkansas, USA
Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I used 2 packs of onion soup mix in place of the bouillon granules and onion flakes and I omitted the bay leaves. It worked out great. Any pasta will work for the alphabet pasta. The soup is quite thick, and will need stirred often to keep from burning. Adding more water helps. I used 1 1/2 lbs. ground beef and it was quite satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
I made this as part of a "dinner basket" for a new mom. I just used a pint jar, and left out the pasta. (I put it in a clear plastic bag tied up with a pretty ribbon.) The presentation was very pretty. I aslo made it for my family - minus the ground beef. Tasty! My husband can't wait to have it with the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
I gave this out as x-mas presents and all were impressed with how it looked. I also made up a batch (it makes a lot) without ground beef, and it's pretty tasty. Also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLH201

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
Thought the recipe was great, my family really liked it! I gave this away as teacher gifts for Christmas and as thank you gifts to close friends. It was a little thick and I added some water. Thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Made this up to tuck in baskets this past Christmas and everyone seems to love it. Need to make a batch for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
made this before deciding to give as gifts... I used tomato sauce instead of paste and cut down on the tomatoes, but I think the original 28oz diced tomatoes would've been better. Great recipe and presentation... I used the pasta sauce jars (as recommended by another reader) and a narrow measuring cup as containers. worked out perfect !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This looks very pretty in the jars. I followed the tip of one of the reviewers and used 1/2 green and 1/2 red lentils - made a big difference in presentation. I made up a jar for my family and my pot wasn't quite big enough so only used 2 quarts of water.. turned out thick and rich.. yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States