Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I tried this recipe before giving it as Christmas gifts and both my husband and I agreed that it was yummy! It does make a lot so plan on freezing some or I just took it for lunch all week with some Italian bread. I followed other people's recommendations and used less rice, added chili powder, used tomato sauce instead of paste and included elbow macaroni. My mason jars were too big and I had to fill the extra room with tissue paper but they still turned out really cute! Thanks for this great recipe, I can't wait to give them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarie75

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This soup is excellent! It makes quite a bit, but no one in my house complained about eating it a few times! From the advice in all the other reviews, I used fresh minced garlic, 2-10 oz. cans of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chilis (instead of the 28 oz. can), 1-15 oz. can of tomato sauce (instead of the paste) and small star pasta. It was perfect. The ingredients provide lots of different textures, and it is not a heavy soup. Thanks Bea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I wanted a healthy, good soup to give out in jars for this Christmas. This recipe had rave reviews, so I tried it before giftgiving. I thought that the soup was mediocre. It was a bit bland, and I will not be giving it away as gifts. Maybe I didn't like it because I am not a bean lover ... although I do like Chili. Thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I made this last Xmas for gifts, but used different beans for color. It took forever to cook, tasted fine tho. After reading the reviews, I'll try it again using the right beans. Thanks for the additional suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
While it looks pretty in the jar, and is a hearty, healthy soup, it does need a kick. Try doubling the spices and adding some crushed red peppers and you'd have a winner. The Classico spaghetti sauce jar did work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Double-Oven Lovin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
compliments all around from everyone I gave the soup to. I added a little curry powder to add some bite, which was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Excellent!! I used this as gifts for friends and family for Christmas presents three years running...I wasn't sure I would have time this year, and I had people CALL me and ask if I was making "the soup" this year!! Also great made with a rotel type of tomatoes and diced or ground chickin if you aren't a beef fan. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Like others, I made this up to give out as gifts this Christmas and it was a big hit - most people thought I purchased it! I put the jar in a decorative basket along with a soup ladle tied with a pretty ribbon. The jar I used was bigger than needed, so I just wrapped the pasta in seasonal plastic wrap, then stuffed more in the top to hold things in place. I made the soup for myself too -- it makes a HUGE batch (better have a big pot!) and was really good -- nice and thick and filling. I froze it in single serving sizes and have been bringing it to work for lunch. Heats up well in the microwave and is just as good the 2nd time around. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
WOW! I made 36 of these for Christmas gifts(Buy stock in Walmart as that's where I got all my ingredients and the jars :). I took others suggestions and used 2 8 oz. cans of tomato sauce and 1 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes. I gave the soup mix along with a wooden spoon, the can of tomatoes and 2 cans of tomato sauce in a gift bag with a box of corn muffin mix. (The only thing the recipient had to provide was the ground beef, garlic powder, pepper and water). Needless to say, it was a HUGE hit and everyone that has tried this LOVES it. This recipe makes a ton, but those that had company over the holidays appreciated this no fuss meal that served a gang THANKS SO MUCH! Again, my dogs got a sampling in their dog food which they gave 5 stars to also. GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quilting Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I used less bouillon (just a cube or a packet) and elbow instead of alphabet macaroni. The jar looks great as a gift, and my friends enjoyed making it (altering the recipe to their taste of course!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States