Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I made this last Xmas for gifts, but used different beans for color. It took forever to cook, tasted fine tho. After reading the reviews, I'll try it again using the right beans. Thanks for the additional suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
While it looks pretty in the jar, and is a hearty, healthy soup, it does need a kick. Try doubling the spices and adding some crushed red peppers and you'd have a winner. The Classico spaghetti sauce jar did work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Double-Oven Lovin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
compliments all around from everyone I gave the soup to. I added a little curry powder to add some bite, which was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Excellent!! I used this as gifts for friends and family for Christmas presents three years running...I wasn't sure I would have time this year, and I had people CALL me and ask if I was making "the soup" this year!! Also great made with a rotel type of tomatoes and diced or ground chickin if you aren't a beef fan. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Like others, I made this up to give out as gifts this Christmas and it was a big hit - most people thought I purchased it! I put the jar in a decorative basket along with a soup ladle tied with a pretty ribbon. The jar I used was bigger than needed, so I just wrapped the pasta in seasonal plastic wrap, then stuffed more in the top to hold things in place. I made the soup for myself too -- it makes a HUGE batch (better have a big pot!) and was really good -- nice and thick and filling. I froze it in single serving sizes and have been bringing it to work for lunch. Heats up well in the microwave and is just as good the 2nd time around. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
WOW! I made 36 of these for Christmas gifts(Buy stock in Walmart as that's where I got all my ingredients and the jars :). I took others suggestions and used 2 8 oz. cans of tomato sauce and 1 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes. I gave the soup mix along with a wooden spoon, the can of tomatoes and 2 cans of tomato sauce in a gift bag with a box of corn muffin mix. (The only thing the recipient had to provide was the ground beef, garlic powder, pepper and water). Needless to say, it was a HUGE hit and everyone that has tried this LOVES it. This recipe makes a ton, but those that had company over the holidays appreciated this no fuss meal that served a gang THANKS SO MUCH! Again, my dogs got a sampling in their dog food which they gave 5 stars to also. GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quilting Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I used less bouillon (just a cube or a packet) and elbow instead of alphabet macaroni. The jar looks great as a gift, and my friends enjoyed making it (altering the recipe to their taste of course!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
I wasn't so sure about this soup, not being a fan of split peas and lentils, but Oh WOW!! This was soo great! I decreased the water by about a half a quart, like some one mentioned earlier, and I loved the thick consistancy. I substituted buffalo meat for the beef, used tiny star pasta, and use a 14oz can of crushed tomatoes w/spicy chili peppers, and a 14oz can of crushed tomato with garlic, also used tomato sauce instead of paste. This was sooo good!! I'm glad I tested out the recipe b/f sending out the gifts, b/c I doubt I would have made it otherwise. And now I'm putting this in my fav recipe rotation! I also could only find the 1 pint jars and the 1 quart, so I think I'll try using the pint and having the pasta in a little bag atached w/ a ribbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I love this as a gift idea! Everyone gets candy and cookies at this time of year, and I love having a healthier option for people (which fits my personality). I love how pretty it looks, layered in a jar. I added a tsp. of chili powder (not spicy, just flavorful) with the Italian seasoning, which kicked up the color in the jar. I also had a very rough time finding jars. I finally found Pint sized canning jars at ONE grocery store in town. Then I put the pasta in a Christmas "treat bag" with a twist tie and tied it to the jar, along with the recipe card, with a Christmas ribbon. They are very cute. The only *bad* thing about this soup is how it looks after it's made. That is not appealing at all, but it tastes good and both of my boys (4 years old) ate it all....which is saying something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
The first time I made Friendship Soup, I gave it a low review because the tomato paste made it unappetizing and I didn't like the combination of both the rice AND the pasta. I made it again last night by using an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce instead of paste, a 14.5 oz. can of Italian style diced tomatoes, no rice and double the pasta (whole wheat spirals), and it was a winner with my best friend, boyfriend, and me. I didn't have bouillion on hand so I used 2 packets of onion soup mix instead and seasoned it accordingly. I also couldn't find barley, so I doubled the lentils. I served it with cornbread, but garlic bread would be wonderful too. I could see this recipe being a wonderful starter for minestrone soup -- just add your own carrots, zucchini, potatoes, spinach, whatever. Yum :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Magnolia, Arkansas, USA
Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States