Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
A nice, homemade gift when topped with a fabric square, tied with a ribbon and attached recipe. I gave this to friends for Christmas and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYMAGICWORD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This is both beautiful to give and delicious to eat. The soup is something different than most people make in a hurry, but making the mix ahead provides people a chance to have a fun new meal with not much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I'm sorry, I followed the recipe exactly and just didn't find this soup at all flavorful. Because of all the great reviews, I will try it again, but this time I will follow others suggestions by using 14 oz of diced and seasoned tomatoes (rather than 28 oz), a can of tomato sauce (rather than paste), a package of dry onion soup mix (rather than the minced onion), and double either the rice or pasta, (stead of using both).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I received this as a gift from my sister and it was fabulous!! Not only does it look pretty in the jar but it taste wonderful! Instead of putting beef granules in the jar my sister instructed to make soup with 10 cups of beef stock instead of 10 cups of water (saved her money). I simply dissolved 10 beef bouillon cubes in 10 cups of water. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef and used a can of tomato soup instead of the tomato paste. My husband and 6-year-old LOVED it... they both had seconds and my husband begged me to get the recipe so we can make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Maroa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
A friend of mine gave me a jar of this soup for a gift. It was really good! My family is not big on soup, but they went back for seconds! Now, I'm on-line getting the recipe because my husband asked that we make it again! There's not many ground beef soups that I've found, this one is easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. D. Platz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I have made for several bake sales. Its easy to do ahead. I have put in a basket with Jar mixes of cookies and bread as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wittenberg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I gave this out as gifts this year and my goodness, what a reception! This soup is wonderful. It looks nice in the jars and tastes sooo good. The baskets had this soup mix, the can of tomatoes, the tomato sauce, a big ladle, and a package of corn bread. Every thing they'd need except the meat. (I filled in with some other little homemade treats.) It made up a very nice basket. Everyone loved them. Thanks for a truly wonderful post. I will surely be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
YUMMY!!! Not only is this soup tasty, but it's easy to make as well. Plus, everything was right on the mark. It was seasoned just right, the cooking time was perfect (which surprised me, I thought the lentils and peas would still be slightly undercooked). It was also a beautiful, and very inexpensive, gift (thanks to the person who suggested recycling Classico spaghetti jars-- just the right size, and a classier look than Kern jars-- just bought new lids. (I gave this jar of soup along with a Pampered Chef jar opener for teacher gift, so they got one thing to enjoy, and one to last -- both made at least one night in the kitchen easier) Our family enjoyed this soup for all it offered. Sincere thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Diamond Bar, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This soup was so good! I substituted ground turkey instead of beef and used one can of tomatoes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This soup is delicious! I will definitely make these as christmas gifts! I made a few changes to the recipe: Used 1x14.5oz can chopped tomatoes (like others suggested), used 1/4 cup onion soup mix instead of onion flakes, substituted garlic salt instead of garlic powder, and used bite size flank steak/chopped steak instead of ground beef. No added salt or seasoning needed once all done! Great fast and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States