Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was very good soup. I followed other reviewers tips and used tomato sauce and a 15 ounce can of tomatoes. It looked very pretty in the jar with the bullion at the bottom as some reviewers recommended. I would have given it 5 strs, but it was not "knock your socks off good".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane M. Pierce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I put this together this Christmas - I bought cute 1/2 quart jars from Old Time Pottery for $1.50; put the ingredients in the jar; wrapped it in Christmas - themed basket wrap with a pretty bow and a spoon (4 for $1) and gave it as gifts for teachers and neighbors. They turned out really pretty - do so hope the soup is good; as I didn't try it. But it really made a pretty gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Great recipe for gifts. I cut the recipe in half for about 4 servings (much more manageable for smaller families). I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder and used Acini Di Pepe pasta instead of barley pearls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I plan on giving this as Christmas gifts this year and tried it out tonight to see how we like it. DELICIOUS! As others suggested, I used 1 can of diced tomatoes and 1 can of tomato sauce. Otherwise, I made the recipe as written. I thought the rice and pasta worked well together and it had plenty of flavor. For myself, I may add crushed red pepper flakes and some frozen vegetables next time. For gifts, I'll make some with chicken granules. I plan on packing it in 1 qt. jars with the cans of tomatoes and sauce and a package of crackers. Put everything in a basket and add a ladle for the finishing touch. Thanks for a great recipe. I'm sure everyone will want a copy of it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was wonderful! I tried it with both beef and chicken, and while I prefer the chicken, my family prefered the beef. I just used left over chicken, and used the chicken bouillon. Very good. My one issue was when I rinsed the peas,lentils, and barly they did not dry well which caused my bouillon to absorb the moisture in the jar. It stuck to the bottom of the jar, so I had to add more when making the soup. Also I had to buy jars and the 2 pint size worked just fine, I upped the pasta to 2/3rds cup. This makes great gifts!!1 I also used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce, and a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Haven't actually tried this myself but I made up a bunch of jars to go in my Christmas baskets. It looked really nice layered. SO PRETTY IN 1 QUART JARS! The only thing I did different was instead of adding boulion granules, I actually placed 5 cubes of boulion squares in a plastic bag just below the plastic bag of pasta. I couldn't find the granules so this is all that I could make work. I sure hope it tastes good and not justs look pretty!!! Once I try it myself I will update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Before giving as gifts this year, I made the soup myself and it was very good. After reading many of the reviews, I also used 2 cans of tomato sauce in place of the tomato paste and one can of diced tomatoes. I also used minced garlic with the ground beef instead of garlic powder. I didn't have any pearl barley and couldn't find any at my local store so I omitted it from the recipe and slightly increased the split peas and lentils and I really don't think it made that much of a difference. Also, my personal preference is pasta in soup and not rice and I thought having both was a bit much so I also omitted the rice and increased the pasta to 1 cup. I used ditalini pasta instead of the alphabet pasta. Overall it came out great and was very quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
We made this a couple of years ago for Christmas presents and they were a huge hit. Not only does the soup taste great, it looks really impressive when layered in glass jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I gave this soup last year as gifts and it was a huge success! I had several extra jars that I saved for us, but whenever I went to the pantry to pull one out, I'd found my daughter had given them all away to friends who'd had the soup and wanted to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I haven't made this recipe in a long time but remember that I loved it!(I have too many cookbooks and recipes so I forget what I have until I come upon it) Will be making again very soon now that I found again! I gave as gifts to teachers and family and also made a batch for my family. Only changes~layer bouillon granules first on bottom of jar when giving as a gift. I used 1 pint of home canned tomatoes and 1 (15 oz.) can tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simplesue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States