Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I gave this as gifts at Christmas and everyone that I've heard back from loved it! Made it myself and also changed the tomato paste to 2 cans and 1 can of tomatoes. I also used 1 and 1/2 pounds of hamburger and added chili powder and the end just enough to cover the top of the soup. I couldn't find alphabet pasta but did find mini stars which worked out just fine. It was easy to put together. Will make again! Great job fellow Hoosier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made some of these for Christmas gifts this year but decided I'd better try it first. Made as is but added some veggies. My family is not big on soup but they loved it..fabulous soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5boys2cook4
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I gave this 4 stars because I think it's too salty. I think 1/4 of bouillon is perfect. I used clear treat bags instead of jars to save money. This makes a great christmas gift if you're trying to avoid all the sweets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5boys2cook4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
yum!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Gave these to my neighbors as Christmas gifts. Everyone loved them. The soup is very yummy. Great gift idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quinnellope1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishop, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I LOVE this soup! I make jars of it every year and make a couple pots for us too. It's such a hearty, tasty soup! I usually use Italian sausage instead of ground beef and seasoned diced tomatoes (Red Gold onion, garlic & basil) just to add a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
fun to make and great to eat. I made a bunch of these to have on hand for when I'm in a pinch for a meal.Scaled the recipe down to serve 4. I usually will toss another handful of any shaped pasta that I have on hand to beef it up a little; it's definitely not necessarily though. This is hearty enough to be a meal. Add a loaf of French Bread &/or a salad and you're set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I received this recipe as a gift last year and now I make it all the time!! I love it and suggest it all the time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I'm planning on giving these as holiday gifts this year, so I wanted to try it out first. I wasn't disappointed! This is a really easy, tasty and low-cost recipe. The presentation got lots of compliments from my extended family before I even made it. And then they really enjoyed it for dinner...even the picky eaters. The only modifications I made were to use half French lentils and half red lentils since they add such nice color and cook up great. I also added 1/2 cup dehyrated diced carrots on the top layer just under the pasta and think this was an excellent addition. And then I used one 10-ounce can tomato sauce instead of tomato paste, and only one 15-ounce can diced tomatoes. Served with grated Parmesan cheese on top and a green salad on the side...Yum! P.S. the 1-quart jars I had on-hand worked out fine, though next time I think I'll use wide-mouth jars for easier filling...using a funnel really helped too. Hint: for decorative canning labels I went to MyOwnLabels.com and made beautiful custom lid labels for a reasonable price!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Gave this as gifts last year, really cheap to make. Was a awesome gift, easy to layer ingrediebrs with a funnel. It isn't the best soup EVER, but as a gift to people who may not cook often, it's close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States