Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This recipe was great. I gave it to friends and my boss for Christmas gifts. Several asked for the ingredient list and others appreciated a healthier type of gift after so many sweets. I used the recommendations for jasmine rice and tomato sauce. I thought it could use some additional spices and vegetables but overall was pleased with the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I tried this recipe before making the gifts. I cut it in half for just the two of us. It still made enough for us for two meals. Really good! Amazing flavor. To make as gifts, I cut everything in half and put it in clear bags that I got at a party shop. Tied it up with pretty ribbon, attached the directions, and gave it as Christmas gifts. For very special people, I took one of your reader's advice and made a gift basket with a 14-1/2 oz. can of diced tomatoes, 8 oz. tomato sauce (I found this combination to work really well), a box of Jiffy cornbread mix, and a small loaf of cranberry bread. The only thing to add was 1/2 lb. ground beef. As I type this, I have a pot of Friendship soup simmering on the stove. It's a rainy, cold Sunday afternoon. Yum. Although I used this as Christmas gifts, it could be used so many times during the year -- especially when you have new neighbors. Suzanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Everyone we gave this to for Christmas loved it!! We will definitely make enough to keep on hand for those times when someone just needs a pick me up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinedale, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Fantastic idea for housewarming and hostess gifts. All my friends loved it. I substituted ground turkey for a little less calorie - 6 WW points for 8 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Morrisville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cblebrun
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
One of my favorite gifts to give at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is a great recipie, makes a wonderfull gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I made this soup prior to packaging it for gifts. We were not crazy about the ground beef so I suggested leftover chicken, turkey or beef as a substitute or leaving out the meat on my recipe card. It makes a huge pot of soup and is very hearty. I also substituted rainbow twist pasta rather than alphabet for extra color in the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I absolutely love this recipe! My family thinks it is great also. I have some in a pot on the stove right now, as a matter of fact--great for a chilly night like tonight. I wouldn't change a thing and I also added a carrot and stalk of celery to my first batch, which just made it all the better. In tonight's batch I am going to add two carrots and a parsnip. This is just a really great recipe and I can't thank you enough. A++++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This was a wonderful soup. Full of great flavor and very nutritious. If you are wanting to get your kids to eat beans and barley this soup is great. My kids didn't even notice those things were in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I tried it as specified without changing it and I find that it was too mushy. Since then, I've not added rice or pasta. But added vegetables (carrots, cabbage, onions, celery). And different kinds of beans. Make for a complete healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States