Friendship Fruit Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Got my starter made and needed to do something with my fruit. I took a cake mix...I had french vanilla on hand and added 3 eggs, 3/4 oil & about 3/4 cup water and two cups fruit starter fruit chopped up. Made cupcakes and baked for 25 minutes at 350. Turned out great. Have my starter going for my 30 day cake now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkysarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!! In the 80's my family ALWAYS had a friendship cake on their counter, . . I loved to help with this as a kid. I haven't seen one of these in YEARS, and was so glad to have found this, . . I made a TON of these for Christmas gifts this past Christmas (a bit behind on my ratings). Everyone was SHOCKED! It was very nice to find this recipe. Thank you so much! We are no longer friendship-cake-less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLR1331

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I have been looking for this recipe for YEARS!!! In the '80s my grandmother and her circle of friends had these cakes going around and I loved it! She passed in 1998 and even though she gave me her recipe box before she died, there was nowhere to be found a recipe for the starter! I remembered more or less what it had but I couldn't remember how it worked or when you were to add what...THANK YOU SO MUCH for posting this recipe as I can FINALLY make these cakes for a whole new generation and culture!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staceylyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I make this every year at thanksgiving, and again at christmas. Here's a tip, If you don't want to make so many cakes, the fruit started is delishious on vanilla ice cream. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! My grandma used to make this when we were kids and we loved it. The recipe died with her 12 years ago and I recently have been trying to find it. I am so excited to have found it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This awesome! My mom was given a starter in the 70's and made this cake for years. Sadly, she passed away in 99 and I let my ONLY starter go bad after a few years in the fridge...I'm so thrilled to find this recipe and the fond memories of my mom it brings back. Mike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I had gotten a liquid starter 20 years ago, and did not have the fruit starter to start making the cakes again, then I found this recipe and it is just what I wanted and it turned out great. I had enough fruit to make three cakes, and enough juice to start all over again. Only this time I will have enough starters to give to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Very good recipe for the starter. My husbands grandmother from Louisiana made this every Christmas and he has been craving it. I was concerned that it only marinated for 3 weeks, but it turned out great! The brandy flavor is excellent! I went ahead and made a cake from the starter fruit and the cake wasn't as moist as the 30-day version, at first. But, as it sat for a day or two it became more moist & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
This has been something I used to love doing with my grandma and hope to pass this down to my girls to start their own family traditions one day. I also hope to bring my friends closet by making and sharing this with my wonderful neighbors. We are going to pass around the starter for the cake as well as the bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Well my sister and I used to make this cake around the holidays. We both thought lets try looking online for the starter recipe ,we still had the cake recipe but not the starter which is the most important thing about this cake. Well I am on day two and very excited to finish it will keep you all posted,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Fruit Pizza II

This delicious "pizza" makes an impressive dessert or brunch centerpiece.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States