Friendship Fruit Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Emily, thank you so much!! I've made this starter and cake about 15 years ago. Someone at my job brought the starter in and we all began making the 30 day cake. I placed the starter in the freezer for later and forgot about it. When I moved I ended up throwing it away. Recently I began thinking about the cake, but I couldn't remember the name of it, and I didn't have the starter. One day I went to Allrecipes, and put cake starter in the search, and up popped your cake starter. Thank you soooo much. I'm starting the starter this weekend, and my cake 21 days after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Thank you so much. This is the only recipe for a fruitcake that my husband would eat. His aunt has given me the recipe and a starter. I allowed my starter to deplete and Aunt Debra as well as my husband have passed on. I was so excited to be able to revive this wonderful cake recipe that brings back wonderful memories of my husband and his aunt. ps. this cake freezes well too. thanks a bunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! My grandma used to make this when we were kids and we loved it. The recipe died with her 12 years ago and I recently have been trying to find it. I am so excited to have found it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This awesome! My mom was given a starter in the 70's and made this cake for years. Sadly, she passed away in 99 and I let my ONLY starter go bad after a few years in the fridge...I'm so thrilled to find this recipe and the fond memories of my mom it brings back. Mike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I had gotten a liquid starter 20 years ago, and did not have the fruit starter to start making the cakes again, then I found this recipe and it is just what I wanted and it turned out great. I had enough fruit to make three cakes, and enough juice to start all over again. Only this time I will have enough starters to give to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I made this and the glass jar exploded sending little shards of glass every where in my kitchen even into the refrigerator and ceiling. DO NOT PUT A LID ON THE JAR, cover with a dish towel or something light.UPDATE : The glass jar is the problem, use a crock like you would for pickles or sauerkraut. It needs to be sealed for the fermenting process but not with a glass jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Got my starter made and needed to do something with my fruit. I took a cake mix...I had french vanilla on hand and added 3 eggs, 3/4 oil & about 3/4 cup water and two cups fruit starter fruit chopped up. Made cupcakes and baked for 25 minutes at 350. Turned out great. Have my starter going for my 30 day cake now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkysarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!! In the 80's my family ALWAYS had a friendship cake on their counter, . . I loved to help with this as a kid. I haven't seen one of these in YEARS, and was so glad to have found this, . . I made a TON of these for Christmas gifts this past Christmas (a bit behind on my ratings). Everyone was SHOCKED! It was very nice to find this recipe. Thank you so much! We are no longer friendship-cake-less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLR1331

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I make this every year at thanksgiving, and again at christmas. Here's a tip, If you don't want to make so many cakes, the fruit started is delishious on vanilla ice cream. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Very good recipe for the starter. My husbands grandmother from Louisiana made this every Christmas and he has been craving it. I was concerned that it only marinated for 3 weeks, but it turned out great! The brandy flavor is excellent! I went ahead and made a cake from the starter fruit and the cake wasn't as moist as the 30-day version, at first. But, as it sat for a day or two it became more moist & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Fruit Pizza II

This delicious "pizza" makes an impressive dessert or brunch centerpiece.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States