Fried Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Be sure to dip the zucchini in an egg & milk mixture first. I've been frying them for years and it works well to hold the coating on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
It does not work real well with cornmeal. You must use cornflake crumbs. Dip the zucchini slices in an egg/milk mix, cover with cornflake crumbs and then fry. This is the right way to do it. Trust me. Been doin' it for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Very healthy excellent taste. I found if zucchini is rinsed and wet the cornmeal sticks much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I tried this and was pleasantly surprised. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and used a "wash" with milk first before dipping the zucchini in the cornmeal. I also added flour to the cornmeal, which I think made for a better coating. Will try other suggestions next time but we all agreed this one was easy enough and pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I'm only giving this four stars because the proportions are off on ingredients and I think that the preparation of these could be improved upon. My mom has been making this for years but we always use an egg wash. So I used one small zucchini (enough for me since nobody else was going to eat any) and cut it into round slices about 1/4" thick. Then I dredged them in egg beaters (about 1/4 cup was plenty) then in about 1/2 cup cornmeal in which I added the salt, pepper and some garlic powder and onion powder. I heated an even layer of olive oil in the frying pan until water drops sizzled and added the slices and kept an eye on them and turned them when they had browned on the first side, maybe about 4 to 5 minutes. then I browned the other side and then put them on a cookie rack over paper towel to drain. They came out tender on the inside and flavorful and crunchy on the outside. Ate them with some ranch dressing for dipping and they totally took care of my craving for fried zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
VERY good! I highly recommend! The BEST fried zucchini I have had in a long time! My husband asked when I was going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Not a success. The cornmeal doesn't adhere and is very gritty all by itself on the zucchini. I enjoyed a recipe that used seasoned breadcrumbs as the breading and an egg wash dunk to get the breadcrumbs to stick better than this alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I ***LOVE*** this recipe! It is quick, easy, & delicious, too!! I make it as often as my family can stand! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2000
I really loved this very simple recipe. It didn't take as long as it said it would, but I cooked the Zucchini on medium high heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This is a great recipe, I have also used the same method in the past for fried green tomatos. It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States