Fried Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I'm only giving this four stars because the proportions are off on ingredients and I think that the preparation of these could be improved upon. My mom has been making this for years but we always use an egg wash. So I used one small zucchini (enough for me since nobody else was going to eat any) and cut it into round slices about 1/4" thick. Then I dredged them in egg beaters (about 1/4 cup was plenty) then in about 1/2 cup cornmeal in which I added the salt, pepper and some garlic powder and onion powder. I heated an even layer of olive oil in the frying pan until water drops sizzled and added the slices and kept an eye on them and turned them when they had browned on the first side, maybe about 4 to 5 minutes. then I browned the other side and then put them on a cookie rack over paper towel to drain. They came out tender on the inside and flavorful and crunchy on the outside. Ate them with some ranch dressing for dipping and they totally took care of my craving for fried zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
terrible, better with flour alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Huxoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Very healthy excellent taste. I found if zucchini is rinsed and wet the cornmeal sticks much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Not a success. The cornmeal doesn't adhere and is very gritty all by itself on the zucchini. I enjoyed a recipe that used seasoned breadcrumbs as the breading and an egg wash dunk to get the breadcrumbs to stick better than this alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Be sure to dip the zucchini in an egg & milk mixture first. I've been frying them for years and it works well to hold the coating on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
The cornmeal doesn't stick to the zucchini very well, and they burn real quick. Also, if you don't eat them right away, they turn soggy and grainy from the cornmeal. If I do try this again, I'll modify it the way other reviews have suggested. Thanks for letting me try though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
It does not work real well with cornmeal. You must use cornflake crumbs. Dip the zucchini slices in an egg/milk mix, cover with cornflake crumbs and then fry. This is the right way to do it. Trust me. Been doin' it for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Didn't like this... the cornmeal never got soft - added a grainy texture that my husband and I found off-putting. Next time, will try flour instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I've tried frying zucchini with a bread crumb coating (like with eggplant) and was never pleased with it, I hadn't thought of using cornmeal but thanks for this recipe because it turned out great! Makes a great snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
These burned much too easily. I like flour better than cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissBethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States