Fried Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
i really didnt like this fried zucchini recipe. i found that it did not cook well, though i followed the directions exactly, and that the cornmeal retained a grainy, unpleasant texture and taste. i even gave it a second try using an egg dip. but i will definitely not be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Not bad... I actually liked the cornmeal rather than just plain flour. I added diced onions as the variation, along with some garlic powder to help the flavor a bit. I soaked the zucchini in water immediately before dipping in the cornmeal, so it stuck no problem. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I used a mixture of half cornmeal and half flour. It still gave the crispiness of the cornmeal but without it being gritty. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This is good but I think (and the family agrees) that it is actually better without the cornmeal. Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I put flour on the zucchini 1st, then I used a milk and egg mix & The cornmeal, bread crumbs, kosher salt and pepper.. Fried adn YUM! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatyC80

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I've never had fried zuchini, so I don't have anything to compare it too, but I thought it turned out pretty decent. I made it for just myself, so next time I will try it on someone else. I used the milk wash and added a little flour to the cornmeal like others suggested, and didn't have any real problems with the process. I do feel like it could use some more flovor in the breading but I haven't figured out what yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
My mother did zucchini like this all her life. She would slice it and put it in a single layer in a dish and sprinkle sugar on it to draw it's natural moisture. She also mixed some flour into the cornmeal. We liked it somewhat crunchy and sprinkle parmas. cheese on top. We couldn't wait for her to put it on the drain/paper towel!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I mix half flour and half corn meal.I also put salt in that.Dip in egg wash first.I cook mine in a small deep fryer.They are golden and taste really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This is a great base recipe. You can always add to the cornmeal to make it a little more spicy or a little more savory. The cornmeal breadding is meant to be light. If you want a thicker coating-dredge in egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dauphin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I tried this and was pleasantly surprised. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and used a "wash" with milk first before dipping the zucchini in the cornmeal. I also added flour to the cornmeal, which I think made for a better coating. Will try other suggestions next time but we all agreed this one was easy enough and pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States