Fried Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
This is an excellent recipie. Even my son who does'nt like zuchinni said so. I did increase the salt in it. Also I used one zuchinni and one yellow squash. Easy, fast and delicious. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
I was not impressed with this at all. The *batter* never really formed on my zucchini. And it ended up coming out very bland tasting. I will stick to my traditional way of doing fried zucchini -- slice the zucchini, dip in flour, dip in eggwash, dip in flour again, salt and pepper and fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2001
easy recipe. I double dipped the zucchini to give them a thicker coating. I let them sit in the covered bowl for 30 minutes, then quckly dunked them in milk, then back into the breading mix. I also added a little cayenne pepper to give it a little zing. Very good, though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Great, Great recipe! The best fried zucchini recipe I have ever tried! Very easy to make, too! I couldn't make mine the night of, so I ended up sticking it in the fridge until the next night. The veggies were pretty soggy looking, but I fried them anyway (since I went through all the work!) and they were delicious! Even the fried onion rings which didn't take the batter as well as the zucchini were yummy! I did double the breading recipe since I had more zucchini than the recipe called for and used half cornmeal, half italian seasoned bread crumbs with the normal, proportional amount of flour. Also added 1/8 to 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese, probably 1/2 to 1 tsp of italian seasoning and increased the garlic powder to 1/2 tsp or more. (I am not an exact measurer, so bare with me here...) I premixed the dry ingredients and put everything in a gallon ziploc bag. So easy! The mess is minimal compared to traditional methods of frying zucchini, so that was a pleasant change! The fried result was crunchy and very flavorful. My husband and 18 month old loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
My family has grown to really like this recipe. Remember to let the mixture sit for 30 minutes so the batter forms on the vegetables, as Jon suggests. We did increase the garlic powder and the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I use italian bread crumbs instead of cornmeal. I added a little salt and adobo to the egg and dip the pieces in the egg, then to bread crumbs. After the oil gets very hot put the pieces in the pan and fry both sides. Remove onto a plate covered with paper towels to absorb the grease and sprinkle with salt while it is still hot. Let cool and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
This was a great starting off point for a second time fried zucchini attempt. Will fine tune it next time to suit our tastes. I will leave out the onions because they didn't take the batter well and will leave the zucchini in slices instead of quarters to be able to flip them in the pan better. I like this recipe because there is not much mess when it comes to getting the batter on the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEACHERMOM37

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
My family loves this recipe. The zucchini turns out nice and crispy. I did eggplant too and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
I made a couple of changes. First I used whole wheat flour instead of white and second, I baked these ( just cannot bring myself to fry). They came out tasty but I do think needed some more seaoning. Next time I think I'll add some spicy seasoning to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I used 1 yellow squash and cut it very thin...like 1/4".. 1/8"..slices....I didn't have any cornmeal, so i used breadcrumbs in it's place...I also added 1/4 tsp of Onion Powder. I let it soak in that mixture 45 minutes.. The squash looked wet as i put them into fry pan...And i did NOT fry in oil..I put 1/2 a stick of Butter in pan to fry...as it fried and absorbed into squash i added more butter to fry in. Almost like squash chips....Very good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARAJOY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Liberty, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States