Fried Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I followed the other suggestions and double dipped the zucchini and then dipped in milk before frying. They turned out great and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I had the same problem as many of the other reviewers...I followed the instructions but the mixture never stuck to the zucchini, creating a batter. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
These were very yummy! But you have to be careful not to let the flour mix with the zucchini for too long- like I did- cuz they get too "wet" and some of the batter didn't stick to the zucchini in the oil. But the taste and texture was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Ended up great but i give it four stars because i made some of the changes that were recommended by other reviewers. I used half the cornmeal and doubled the flour. I left it in the mix for 30 min, dipped it in a egg and milk mix, and then another 10 min in the mix. As for the breading sticking, i noticed that if i only put in a small amount of the zuccini in the oil then they cooked golden brown very fast and the breading was perfect and stayed on; however, if i put more of the zuccini in the oil it took a lot longer to cook and the breading did not stick that well. Overall, they were very good, but that was because of the suggested changes. (Also, I only used zuccini because the onions somehow never made it into my house from the store.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
4 1/2 stars from me! I didn't have the cornmeal so I used bread crumbs instead. Sliced the zucchini and, just for the fun of it, some mushroom. OMG! The mushrooms were delish, better than the zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This was very bland. The breading did not stick for me either (and I know what I'm doing). Since it didn't work out, I added garlic, Parmesan, and a few Italian spices to the dry mix. I dipped the semi breaded zucchini in a milk/egg mix and then back into the improved dry mix. Much better, but the cornmeal was just not very exciting to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Fewx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Much easier and traditional way of frying zucchini. Not for anyone watching calories. I sliced the onion quite thin and will make larger rings next time because it browned faster than the zucchini. I will try butter next time instead of oil and will cut down on the cornmeal and add a little more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I loved this recipe. I used a combination of Zucchini, Yellow squash & Vidalia onion. Wonderful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSJ1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I was excited at first when I saw this recipe because I wanted onion rings and fried zucchini. The dry ingredients did not stick to the zucchini or onion, (let it sit for over 30 minutes) and came right off in the oil. The batter came out soggy and oily and separate from the zucchini/onion. Everything fell apart! Will use pancake batter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I think this is one of those recipes where you need the proper cooking gear to make it turn out right. It was OK, but I bet it would have been better had it been cooked in a deep-fryer. I fried it on the stove and had the same problem as others, the batter not sticking as well. I just don't think the oil was hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States