Fried Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I suppose I should have read the cooking time of 20 minutes. I thought once you dropped them in the oil that they would cook and brown up in no time. I ended up throwing out the first batch but then when I did the second batch and waited patiently...they came out great!!! Very tasty. I think next time I will cut them up like french fries and find a tasty dipping sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SanibelSharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Great, Great recipe! The best fried zucchini recipe I have ever tried! Very easy to make, too! I couldn't make mine the night of, so I ended up sticking it in the fridge until the next night. The veggies were pretty soggy looking, but I fried them anyway (since I went through all the work!) and they were delicious! Even the fried onion rings which didn't take the batter as well as the zucchini were yummy! I did double the breading recipe since I had more zucchini than the recipe called for and used half cornmeal, half italian seasoned bread crumbs with the normal, proportional amount of flour. Also added 1/8 to 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese, probably 1/2 to 1 tsp of italian seasoning and increased the garlic powder to 1/2 tsp or more. (I am not an exact measurer, so bare with me here...) I premixed the dry ingredients and put everything in a gallon ziploc bag. So easy! The mess is minimal compared to traditional methods of frying zucchini, so that was a pleasant change! The fried result was crunchy and very flavorful. My husband and 18 month old loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This was OK, but it was a little bland. A good base recipe to tweak a bit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Deeeelicious! I will continue to make my zucchini this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I made batter just like it said. I did not let it set at all. I coated it in a egg/milk mixture, put it in batter and then put it in deep fryer. It turned out very good, especially the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
These were pretty good. If you are looking for a more breaded fried zucchini then definately take others advice and double bread or dip in milk or egg before adding dry ingredients. I fried mine in a deep fryer and had no issues making them as directed in the recipe but I do understand why others suggest making them more on the breaded side. Both ways suit my tastebuds so I think its more a preference thing than anything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I followed the other suggestions and double dipped the zucchini and then dipped in milk before frying. They turned out great and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I had the same problem as many of the other reviewers...I followed the instructions but the mixture never stuck to the zucchini, creating a batter. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
These were very yummy! But you have to be careful not to let the flour mix with the zucchini for too long- like I did- cuz they get too "wet" and some of the batter didn't stick to the zucchini in the oil. But the taste and texture was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Ended up great but i give it four stars because i made some of the changes that were recommended by other reviewers. I used half the cornmeal and doubled the flour. I left it in the mix for 30 min, dipped it in a egg and milk mix, and then another 10 min in the mix. As for the breading sticking, i noticed that if i only put in a small amount of the zuccini in the oil then they cooked golden brown very fast and the breading was perfect and stayed on; however, if i put more of the zuccini in the oil it took a lot longer to cook and the breading did not stick that well. Overall, they were very good, but that was because of the suggested changes. (Also, I only used zuccini because the onions somehow never made it into my house from the store.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States