Fried Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
After mixing your dry ingredients, toss these all together in a bag! I was hesitant that a batter would form without a liquid ingredient, but it did! Used my deep fryer set at 325 and they were done in about 4 minutes..hit them with salt and parmesean cheese after they are done, I served it with pasta and marinara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okeana, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
It didn't form a batter for me. It could have been because I had them sliced from the night before, not sure. I also used rice flour to make it gluten free. Some I dipped into a egg wash and then coated again and they were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I agree with another rating that this is a good start. I began with cornmeal, switched to seasoned bread crumbs with some grated parmesan cheese, with the flour. I doubled dipped and dredged towards the end of the batch,it really beefed them up. I used green zucchini and yellow crookneck.I will keep this as my base recipe with the changes, for my zucchini fry ups. Worked very well for onion rings too. Next time I will even try some bell pepper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeggyM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was a good start. I exchanged the cornmeal for garlic and herb bread crumbs because I didn't have cornmeal and I sauteed a pound of shrimp in the oil after the onions and zucchini were done. There needs to be a way in which a lot more of the batter stays on the zucchini and onions. Just letting the veggies sit for a half hour doesn't allow enough to glom on. The zucchini and onions need to be dredged in egg or milk before making contact with the batter. HOWEVER, both the lightly battered and heavily battered zucchini ended up tasting good: The zucchini I made that didn't retain much batter tastes great once you add a little salt and pepper at the end (because it doesn't retain enough spices from the batter). The zucchini I made that retained a lot more of the batter (I dredged them in water) tasted FANTASTIC. Will definitely make this again with my adjustments. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
i added turmeric, cayenne pepper, and cumin to the mix. also, only used cornmeal. to make it more "batter" like, i added milk to the whole thing (flour mixture on veggies). Also, I did this with chicken and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Turn up the heat to medium-high if not high. They seemed to be too mushy on the early pieces and after I turned up the heat they were tender-crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teagan's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
The flavor was a little bland but I would probably make them again and double the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
My husband made these one evening as an after thought. They were tasty. He double dipped them to get more of the crunch crust on the zucchini. We had some left over and ate them another day and they were still great after reheating them in the oven for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I never rate this low but this was just awful doesn't stick gritty no flavor just terrible not at all what i expected or wanted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Do this simchannas way and its a 5 star. Dip in eggwash than flour than eggwash again. Garlic salt and pepper and fry. Plus make sure to pat with paper towels. Now thats how mom useda make!!*mmmm* P.S. These are also very addicting and So far my all time favorite way to use up my zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States