Fried Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I needed to add water to the batter - after 45 minutes it wasn't batter yet, still just dry. I needed to sort out the veggies - the onions cooked lots faster than the squash did. I also found I needed to salt it after it was fried and drained. I fried it at 365 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
First time I have fried Zucchini and the recipe was a hit. I read the reviews and followed the suggestions, making sure I left the zucchini sitting in the batter for 30 or more minutes and that the zucchini was well covered. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Smiths Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
There was to much cornmeal for me. Other than that it's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I would make a few changes if I make these again. first, I would slice the zucchini's a little thicker, maybe a 1/4" or so. Second, I would not brown them as much as I did. The corn meal in the batter made them too crispy, like chips. Overall, a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RavenQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly as written. Even waiting 45 minutes the mixture never really stuck to the zucchini. As soon as the zucchini hit the hot grease it simply slugged off. That being said, the light covering of batter that did remain fried up nicely and the zucchini turned out crisp and tasty. My husband gave this recipe two thumbs up. I think next time I will try an egg wash and a second coating of batter before frying. I might also add a little more garlic and some seasone salt to fit our tastes a little better. Overall though, this recipe delivered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I saw other reviews that said batter was not likely to set up right...mine didnt work. ...Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I made this with an extra large garden zucchini and it was wonderful. We made it at the same time as another fried zucchini recipe and this won hands down. I followed the instructions exactly and there was a nice coating on the zucchini.The flavor with the onion (I used a sweet onion) was great. I didn't add any extra water or egg, but I let it sit for 30 minutes as instructed. All my kids loved it. I broke up the onion slices, but it may have been better to leave the onion slice together since the whole slice could have been flipped like the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
was very bland and the batter did not stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lease1981

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. No batter ever set up. All you could taste was the flour corn meal mixture - grainy. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I wouldnt say that this formed a batter, but it was a nice coating and it tasted great! Nice idea to add the onions as well. Will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PookityPoo

Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States