Fried Yellow Squash with Potatoes and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
My husband and I love this recipe. I am not a big fan of squash, but with the potatoes I really enjoy it. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I have fried squash, onions and potatoes together for a long time, all I do different is I coat the veggies in flour and season with salt and pepper. Shake off the excess flour, and start off with about an inch of shortening or oil in a skillet. When they are browned I stir them and if I need more grease I add it then. I have also fried them in the oven and it takes less grease. Either way it is a southern staple at my house in the summer...very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I decreased the oil by half and didn't even add the butter. The end result was still pretty greasy. Next time I won't add the onions until I put the squash in. Diced onion does not need to cook for 30 mins. They were pretty much burned black at the end of the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I also cut back on the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Fantastic! Followed the recipe except for paprika because I didn't have any and used olive oil....can't imagine it being any better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Had some extra squash from my farm-share and this was really delicious. And I'm not that fond of squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I made this as written and it was wonderful! My family raved and raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I made a little changes, I used a little bacon fat, with butter and held the potatoes. OH MY, this was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Very very good, but a bit rich with all that butter and oil. I cut back the oil to about 1/2 the amount called for because I just knew from reading the recipe that it would be too much for me. Still, I really enjoyed the end broduct, the yellow squash is a great addition to classic potatoes and onion.s Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ehreng
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
a cup of oil and a quarter cup of butter? Ugh. I pan fried the potatoes/squash in a couple of tablespoons of butter and that is all. There is no need to go through with all the oil absorption, it cooks just fine without. As for the rest, tasted delicious, even when I discovered I had no garlic and had to use garlic bread topping instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ehreng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States