Fried Venison Backstrap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I am a chef on a south Texas deer ranch and I always chicken-fry the backstrap. I cook it the same, but chop it differently. I cut the backstrap into 3 inch chunks and pound it flat just like a chicken fried steak. Soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was awesome! The only modification I made was to use Tony's Season Salt rather than plain salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This recipe was exceptional! A definitel keeper. We do not often get vension, so I had no idea how to cook it. My neighbor gave it to me and I was not too thrilled with the way he told me to cook it, so I searched for other recipes. We finished almost all that I cooked. I did find that it was rather labor intensive, though. It took longer than the recipe said it would, but was worth the effort. It had an excellent flavor and was ultra-tender. I did use less black pepper and it was plenty spicy enough. I do not think it would have been way to spicy otherwise. Can hardly wait to cook it again! I look forward to trying the venison roast recipes that I found also. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittlDuck15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Not too sure about this..I do want to try this but the hot pepper sauce has got me confused...is it the stuff they serve in fancy restaurants that is kind of clear and vinegary tasting or is it like texas pete or louisiana hot sauce? Can someone help me before i ruin a bunch of meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This was sooooo good!! I have a ton of elk meat in my freezer, and I have been looking for a good solid recipe for some of it! Now given that it's pretty messy to make, but it is worth it, and kinda fun! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillalovesdw2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie Andrews
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I took out the hot sauce and left everything else just the same. It was wonderful, my son wanted 2nds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I have a very picky wife and a 4 yr old. This recipe was one of the best and easiest ways to cook venison tenderloin. I will double the amount of hot sauce next time however. Also I used latex gloves to help with the clean up, but the mess on my countertop was, well a mess. Either way the family loved it!!! And I mixed together the egg/milk with the flour and then fried that after I cooked the tenderloin, have not came up with a name but the family thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Perfect! I can barely get this plated before it's gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Great!! I only marinated for 20 min. but it still turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I added a tablespoon of Cajun seasoning to the breading, added some extra zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Newport, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States