Fried Venison Backstrap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was perfect! The flour-egg-flour technique kept the breading on the meat instead of floating in the pan, bonus! I did half the salt and the pepper sauce but then added 1 Tbsp onion powder and 1 tsp paprika to the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was Great. This was a really differant way to cook venison. I turned out very tender. I would have also doubled the hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
My family loves this, including me (the one who dislikes venison the most). The only thing I do different from the recipe is to omit the hot sauce, since my 6 y.o. is very sensitive to spicy things. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Excellent, even tho I skipped the hot sauce (all out). The kids liked it -- we called it "chicken fried steak". Next time I'll serve it with McCormick brown gravy and mashed potatoes. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I have a very picky wife and a 4 yr old. This recipe was one of the best and easiest ways to cook venison tenderloin. I will double the amount of hot sauce next time however. Also I used latex gloves to help with the clean up, but the mess on my countertop was, well a mess. Either way the family loved it!!! And I mixed together the egg/milk with the flour and then fried that after I cooked the tenderloin, have not came up with a name but the family thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Came out amazing. Nothing needed nothing said . . . . .wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IZECREEMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Excellent, and easy. I would add more hot sauce, and serve with 1554.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I am a chef on a south Texas deer ranch and I always chicken-fry the backstrap. I cook it the same, but chop it differently. I cut the backstrap into 3 inch chunks and pound it flat just like a chicken fried steak. Soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Perfect! I can barely get this plated before it's gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This recipe was exceptional! A definitel keeper. We do not often get vension, so I had no idea how to cook it. My neighbor gave it to me and I was not too thrilled with the way he told me to cook it, so I searched for other recipes. We finished almost all that I cooked. I did find that it was rather labor intensive, though. It took longer than the recipe said it would, but was worth the effort. It had an excellent flavor and was ultra-tender. I did use less black pepper and it was plenty spicy enough. I do not think it would have been way to spicy otherwise. Can hardly wait to cook it again! I look forward to trying the venison roast recipes that I found also. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittlDuck15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States