Fried Venison Backstrap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I had already marinated (no recipe just whatever I have on my mind at the time) my deer. Just wanted to try a new way to cook the meat. Well, we enjoyed the way it turned out! I will do this again, and use the milk marinate. I also made a gravey, but found we like with and without the gravey. Thanks for giving me a new way to prepare a staple in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LortsLoki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was perfect! The flour-egg-flour technique kept the breading on the meat instead of floating in the pan, bonus! I did half the salt and the pepper sauce but then added 1 Tbsp onion powder and 1 tsp paprika to the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was Great. This was a really differant way to cook venison. I turned out very tender. I would have also doubled the hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
My family loves this, including me (the one who dislikes venison the most). The only thing I do different from the recipe is to omit the hot sauce, since my 6 y.o. is very sensitive to spicy things. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Excellent, even tho I skipped the hot sauce (all out). The kids liked it -- we called it "chicken fried steak". Next time I'll serve it with McCormick brown gravy and mashed potatoes. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I have a very picky wife and a 4 yr old. This recipe was one of the best and easiest ways to cook venison tenderloin. I will double the amount of hot sauce next time however. Also I used latex gloves to help with the clean up, but the mess on my countertop was, well a mess. Either way the family loved it!!! And I mixed together the egg/milk with the flour and then fried that after I cooked the tenderloin, have not came up with a name but the family thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Came out amazing. Nothing needed nothing said . . . . .wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Cornish Stanton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Excellent, and easy. I would add more hot sauce, and serve with 1554.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I am a chef on a south Texas deer ranch and I always chicken-fry the backstrap. I cook it the same, but chop it differently. I cut the backstrap into 3 inch chunks and pound it flat just like a chicken fried steak. Soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Perfect! I can barely get this plated before it's gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States