Fried Tomato, Onion, and Mushroom Ragout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Cooked this tonight and really enjoyed it. Great taste, quick & easy to make. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I tried this and it was AMAZING. I made a few changes I'd seen suggested beforehand and a threw in a few of my own. Because my mother in law has a garden with about a billion more tomatoes than she needs, I added in quite a few more than the recipe called for... about 12 cups! I also added a third cup of mushrooms, a can of tomato sauce, 2 tbs garlic, 3 cups bell peppers, and 4 sliced sausages (since I can't do without meat). Then I let it simmer for 45 mins to let all the flavors blend nicely. It was a hit with my family and even though there was so much sauce, it all got eaten. My husband says he now forbids me to buy any canned spaghetti sauce EVER. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
fast & easy. i added two cloves of garlic to the onions and it turned out great. not extraordinary, but a decent quick pasta topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Added a little garlic and a dash of cayenne for a little heat since I was out of red pepper flakes. Served over egg noodles . So awesome and simple. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Great sauce! I froze it in silicone muffin cups. Just the right size for 1 person. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meurtelken

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was a delicious way to incorporate a lot of fresh ingredients into a meal! After reading other reviews I used 6 romas & added a 6oz can of tomato paste (and about 2tbsp water to dilute that). I also added a can of chopped basil & oregano tomatoes just because I had it in the pantry; will try without next time. Served over whole wheat pasta.. DELICIOUS! I am convinced that I'll never buy pasta sauce again because this recipe is a great base to add-on to and make my own healthier and homemade version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Loved this! The onions cooked down nicely. I did add a smidge of tomato sauce to thicken it a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This recipe was simple and delicious! I added minced garlic and a can of tomato paste, as well as some italian seasoning, and a dash of chili powder. I sometimes make a variation of your recipe with chicken breast strips instead of mushrooms, and we love that too. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is excellent, nice and simple but still hearty and delicious. I used a pint of halved cherry tomatoes, because I had them on hand, and dried basil as I had no fresh but it was still really great served over creamy polenta. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Very good. I substituted crimini mushrooms and used tomato paste instead of wedges (2tbsps paste+1/2 cup water at high altitude). I put the ragout over baked polenta topped with goat cheese. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth P

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States