Fried Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Like some of the other reviewers noted, the sweet potatoes come out more carmelized than fried but that's exactly what I was looking for so I wasn't surprised. I fried up two larget sweet potatoes and my boyfriend liked them so much he barely left any for me! Goes great with the Rosemary Pork Tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I've fried sweet potatoes for years, and never added the brown sugar and they were good. But these were better. Just a little too much sugar for me...So I will add a little less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I am not sure if I did something wrong with this recipe or if the recipe was wrong in some way, but the 1/2 cup of butter along with the TWO cups of PACKED brown sugar, well, the brown sugar never melted completely and I kept adding more butter and it just turned out into this THICK concoction that could NO WAY be used to fry anything!! Help!! What went wrong??!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
My husabnd made this for our anniversary dinner. It was really easy and good.We will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
really good! They do take some time to prepare, the browning until tender takes a while, next time I will prepare these early and reheat. Went great with Thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
Great recipe with some modifications. I peeled and sliced my potatoes before boiling for 5-6 min. While they were draining I melted 1 stick butter in the pan and added 1/2 onion sliced thinly, then added a dash of cinnamon and only 1 cup loosely packed brown sugar. After a few minutes I tossed in the potatoes and let them cook another 5-10 min. Everyone liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
My mother always made these when I was growing up but never bothered boiling them ahead of time. She did cook longer however. This was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Delicious & simple! I made a smaller batch for just my husband & I He devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I thought this recipe was very good. I thought it was going to be more like french fries. I actually made the turkey burgers to go with this. This was more carmelized than fried. Still a good meal and definitely something I would make again. I will probably do some modifications and see if I can get them more fried the next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITEE0971

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
My fiance and roommate really liked them. I didn't like them so much because I wanted something more like sweet potato french fries. These were more like carmelized sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia
Home Town: Cambridge, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States