Fried Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Tasty! Will be using this method regularly for sweet potatoes. With just me and my husband, I used one big sweet potato, cut into fours to boil and then cubed before frying. I used about 2T brown sugar and 3T butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Too much brown sugar, these did not fry up, just tasted like boiled sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Knox Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yani42
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
made two large sweet potatoes, blanched for 5 minutes in salted water, used 1/4 butter and brown sugar and fried in medium high....ate them the black bean veggie burgers from here and a toss salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yani42

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Very yummy. I sliced the sweet potatoes into fries prior to boiling. Boiled 4 minutes & then fried for about 10. They came out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
There is no need to blanch the sweet potaoes. Peel, cut them into rounds about 1/4 inch-to 1/2 inch thick. Melt 1 stick of butter over medium heat, arrange the potaoes, then put about 3/4 cup of brown sugar. Keeping heat low will prevent the butter and sugar from being lumpy and burnt. And provides an excellent "sauce" for the potatoes. These poatoes are done when fork tender--about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Frying the sweet potatoes is intriguing, but this is way too much sugar! I find that frying the sweet potatoes brings out enough of their natural sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Absolutely not to my liking. I dumped half of the butter/sugar mixture off and it still was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
The bettern name for these are candied sweet potatoes. These remind me of the ones my mom made growing up. I thought they were easy and good. I used two large sweet potatoes boiled for 5 minutes and cut them up into 1/2 slices like in the picture. I used 1/4 cup butter and 14/ cup brown sugar and that was perfect. I added a little salt at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haley Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I was hoping this dish was going to be like the chips that you buy at the fair or something. These came out like hard candy. I will not use this recipe again. I'm not saying anything other than I didnt get what I wanted out of it. I probably did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carteret, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I feel horrible rating this so low, but we were really disappointed in this recipe. I couldn't even finish my serving! I did follow others advice & boil the sweet potatoes for 10 minutes, but I think it was the brown sugar/butter combo that we were not a fan of. first of all, like someone else said, if you want fried sweet potatoes - this IS NOT the recipe to use! second, these were WAY too sugary & carmelized. we were scraping off the brown sugar coating & adding salt but it still didn't help. AND to top it all off they are a MESS! will not be making this recipe again. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Foz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miltonvale, Kansas, USA
Living In: Clay Center, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States