Fried Steak with Peppercorn Gravy Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is one of our time favorites!!! Usually just make 2 NY strips but I double the gravy..you definetly want the extra. Heres how I do it... Season steaks, fry for 5 min. each side in a little olive oil, take steaks out. Add 2 cups water, then add 2 packets of brown gravy mix. Stir well, add 1/2 cup heavy cream, peppercorns (about 10), 2 teaspoons vinegar. Bring to a simmer and add the steaks back in. Simmer for about 10 min. We made no yolk dumpling noodles with it. Plate the noodles add steak and gravy over it. Yummo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This recipe is an A+! I just made it. Didn't have cream so added sour cream and decided to throw in some mushrooms. Oh and I broiled the steaks. Fantastic!!! Awesome recipe thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This recipe was great! We really enjoyed it! I also added Mushrooms to it as well. It was really tasty and complimented the steak beautifully. Thanks a lot we! this will be a regular meal for us :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky1985

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
My family loved this recipe. The only thing that I changed for my husband was switching the peppercorn for regular pepper. It made it easier for my little ones to eat. Also...definitely double the gravy. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
I omitted the vinigar and the white wine, substituted both for a dry Red wine. Tasty, and very similar to the flavors of the sauce used at Outback Steak house for dipping the Lamb Chops. YUM!So Easy! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
my whole family loved this recipe my six year old picky girl also loved it which is a plus its easy and taste like you put some time in it i did however add mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Excellent recipe! My husband loved it. This gravy was sooooo easy to make and it can be used with many other meat dishes as well. What a nice combination of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was good. I had to simmer it a bit to bring down the strong vinegar taste. To make the peppercorn flavoring stronger I crushed a few peppercorns to add long with the whole peppercorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mom of  Two
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly it was easy and very tasty. I even used a light cream. Simple and good you can't beat that! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States