Fried Steak with Peppercorn Gravy Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
The peppercorn gravy is absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
My family loved this recipe. The only thing that I changed for my husband was switching the peppercorn for regular pepper. It made it easier for my little ones to eat. Also...definitely double the gravy. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mom of  Two
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly it was easy and very tasty. I even used a light cream. Simple and good you can't beat that! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This recipe was great! We really enjoyed it! I also added Mushrooms to it as well. It was really tasty and complimented the steak beautifully. Thanks a lot we! this will be a regular meal for us :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky1985

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is one of our time favorites!!! Usually just make 2 NY strips but I double the gravy..you definetly want the extra. Heres how I do it... Season steaks, fry for 5 min. each side in a little olive oil, take steaks out. Add 2 cups water, then add 2 packets of brown gravy mix. Stir well, add 1/2 cup heavy cream, peppercorns (about 10), 2 teaspoons vinegar. Bring to a simmer and add the steaks back in. Simmer for about 10 min. We made no yolk dumpling noodles with it. Plate the noodles add steak and gravy over it. Yummo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Not at all what I was expecting. I thought that it was okay but my husband ate a few bites and that was it. Wont be making again. But thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
I didn't want to waste an entire bottle of wine for just one TB. I used Red wine vinegar and thought the out come was fine. I also cooked the steaks in butter and Olive Oil , put on a plate to keep warm, then deglazed the pan with a bit of beer (we DID have one of those open. I added the prepared gravy and mushrooms to the pan, cooked long enough to heat the mushrooms thru then put the steaks and accumulated juice back in to coat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Really good, added mushrooms and used fat free half and half, little bit of kitchen bouquet. We'll be doing this one again, quick & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This recipe is an A+! I just made it. Didn't have cream so added sour cream and decided to throw in some mushrooms. Oh and I broiled the steaks. Fantastic!!! Awesome recipe thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States