Fried Squid with Pineapple (Muc Xao Thom) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Recipe is fantastic. I disagree with a previous review that squid takes forever to clean though - it is very quick and easy. Cut the tentacles off just in front of the eyes. Remove the beak. Slide your finger down the back of the tube and break through the membrane holding the body in the tube. Pull the body and guts out. Slide your finger down under the cartilage and lift up - the cartilage will now come out. Slice the skin with a knife and peel off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2001
Taste very good. My husband and I love it. I use pineapple crushed in a can and it still turned out so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I agree this is a very good dish. Remember you can add tomatoes and cubed bell peppers in this dish too and garnish it with cilantro! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ho Chi Minh City, Dong Nam Bo, Viet Nam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
pretty yummy, but squid take forever to clean and cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
YUM! I'd never cooked with squid before, so I was a little worried, but this turned out just great! I actually used oyster sauce instead of fish sauce because I had it around. Not fishy tasting at all:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
We did not like this at all (I'm American my girlfriend is of Vietnamese decent). A very mild mellow flavor. The flavors didnt blend or meld together well. "Fried" is the wrong term for it. Like another reviewer said, there are better uses for squid. Too much fish sauce also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This was fairly bland, so I added some chili sauce, which kicked it up a bit. All in all, I'm sure I could find a better way to prepare squid. Not horrible, but probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This is a Delicacy, The flavors really comeout and it's so good. EXCELLENT EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 STAR RATING *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Too fishy! We love squid but the fish sauce killed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I used mango instead of pineapple. Ignored the sugar and celery. Then I chilled and it was really good. It was a bit oily but mango provided a sweet counterbalance to red peppers I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States