Fried Soft-Shell Crab Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Wow! This is an easy straightforward recipe! If you buy the crabs and have them cleaned by the fish monger this the rest takes no time. A cross between a light sauté and deep batter fried. Nice crunch and taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This is how we make them on the Chesapeake Bay. The egg and milk simply help the coating and seasoning stick to the crab and do not make a heavy crust or add/detract. Good cleaning instructions for anyone new to soft crabs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
As a native of Maryland, I have enjoyed the bounty of the Chesapeake Bay my whole life. I love hard and soft shell crab. This was my first time actually preparing soft shell crab. The only changes I made to this recipe was to add some Old Bay (it's a Maryland thing)and I used egg white and light milk - very light wash. They turned out PERFECT! Everyone who indulged loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aja
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Delicious! This was a hit with my friends as well as my gluten-free friends when I made it with the gluten-free flour for them. This simple recipe allows you to add creole spices for your soft shell crab po' boys or just simple salt & pepper to pair with your favorite Asian sauce! (in the photo is a wasabi mayo)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
YUM YUM, just cooked fresh softies right out of Chesapeake Bay in MD. This recipe is perfect and if you do not like it you must not be a true crab lover !!! Could eat softies everyday breakfast, lunch and dinner.. Be careful not to over cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Pretty good but after my first attempt I sub'd Wondra Flour for Starch. Starch gave it a gummy Texture and strange taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GabesMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
My family & I love eating soft shell crab. 1st time I want to fried it myself & I'm using this recipe. It did not failed me! very glad with the outcome. I'll using this recipe for any deep fry food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Excellent recipe! However, we did substitute rice flour for the all-purpose flour, which made for a much lighter and fluffier crusting. Next time we are also considering Panko crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEEDSKATERDIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
A good basic recipe, works every time. I add Old Bay and a few other little touches--Maryland style. A mix of corn meal and flour works very well, too. The details of dressing the crab are exactly right. Now that IQF soft shells are available, I can have them anytime I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
First time to try soft shell crabs. Double dipped in flour because I like a good coating... came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States