Fried Rice with Ginger, Hoisin, and Sesame Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I love this recipe. If I don't have enough BBQ sauce to make half a cup I will add some ketchup or teriyaki or even more hoisin sauce to make the half a cup. I don't use the rice part of the recipe, just the sauce. I also add an extra tablespoon of peanut butter. It make the sauce nice and creamy. Even my three year old has a second helping. I use whatever meat and veggies I have pour it all over chow mein noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
My husband and I enjoyed the taste of this rice. I do think the trick to non-mushy rice is to use cold or frozen rice. I had fresh broccoli rather than frozen and it worked fine in this recipe. Liked the taste of the sauce with the hoisin sauce. I will make this again, and again using "cold" rice. I served this with 'Glazed Carrots Asian Style' and 'Asian Lettuce Wraps', both AR recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
First, I give it 3 stars on the directions, but 4, even 5, on rice recipe and the potential it has. In order to have fried rice be fried rice, it has to be cooked cold rice. No other way around that. The recipe ingredients are above average. I did take the recommendation of other reviewers and went really easy on the BBQ sauce. Hoisin itself is Asian BBQ sauce. I used frozen peas and carrots, broccoli from my garden, fresh ginger and garlic, onion, the 2 eggs, and leftover cooked bacon I had. Added a bit more low sodium soy to the sauce, plus 1 T white viengar. This recipe has so much potential using various meats, fish, veggies, and spices. Thanks for sharing the recipe with us. It will be on our table often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dogodigger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
this was really great. the rice didn't fry properly the first time, so i restarted and had better luck. didn't have hoisin sauce in the house, so i used a sweet and sour. turned out great. my boyfriend loved it and i was the most worried about his review! can't wait to make it again with hoisin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delafield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
My fiance and I really liked this one! The only thing i changed was to add a little chinese 5 spice powder and water chestnuts (cuz i love them). And the only reason to give 4 stars instead of 5 was that it was a bit mushy. But I'm not really sure what would solve that problem....All in all, good dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Sorry, I hate to leave bad reviews, but this was not good. I left out the bbq sauce and it still wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This turned out great. I doubled the rice, water, and garlic to feed a larger group. I used frozen broccoli and frozen mixed peas and carrots. There was a faint peanut flavor, which would accomodate a Thai meal also. I left out the bbq sauce and added a little stir fry sauce instead. I definitely did not use 1 cup of sauce as written. I served it with a chicken ginger soup, and it was a complete meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I thought this was going to be great so I made a double batch because my husband loves rice. It was terrible! The BBQ sauce was so overpowering we couldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
great recipe! made with the backed asian style honey chicken (you can find it on here) delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyme, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Montpelier, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Coming from a Chinese family, I would never attempt to make fried rice with fresh cooked rice - only ever day old rice. With this recipe and day old rice, my grains of rice turned out fresh and didn't stick to the bottom of the pan or turn into a ball of mush, but it didn't really turn out 'fried' either. I didn't have any eggs in the house, so I skipped it. And I couldn't bring myself to put BBQ sauce in hoisin and soya sauce - I just couldn't wrap my mind around it - so I used oyster sauce instead. My recipe looked more like: equal parts hoisin and oyter sauce with a splash or two of soya sauce, 1 tsp of ground ginger and 1 tbsp of peanut butter. The resulting sauce I was quite happy with. I then fried the garlic up with onion and chicken, added green pepper and zucchini...and voilà. Despite the failure of the fried part of my rice, I quite liked the idea for the sauce this recipe gave me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States