Fried Rice with Ginger, Hoisin, and Sesame Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Since I loved all these flavours too, I was excited to try this recipe. My husband and I LOVED it! I made some substitutions, not out of "correction", but because I did not have the ingredients. Ran out of onion, used onion powder both in the sauce and while frying the rice. Used mixed stir-fry vegetables, and added some of last night's grilled chicken breast strips (marinated in Korean Marinade, elsewhere on this site.) WOW! The only addition I made was to had about a quarter teaspoon of Vietnamese chili sauce, making this dish a truely eclectic blend of Asian flavours! Marvelous, will make this AGAIN AND AGAIN! Thanks Carlyyy, for this great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Awesome combination of flavors! Only thing I added (because it's so incredible in dishes like this) is fresh chopped cilantro when it was done. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpotato
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This dish was great. I replaced the white rice with whole grain brown rice, which add some extra cooking time, but the outcome was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This turned out great. I doubled the rice, water, and garlic to feed a larger group. I used frozen broccoli and frozen mixed peas and carrots. There was a faint peanut flavor, which would accomodate a Thai meal also. I left out the bbq sauce and added a little stir fry sauce instead. I definitely did not use 1 cup of sauce as written. I served it with a chicken ginger soup, and it was a complete meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I love this recipe. If I don't have enough BBQ sauce to make half a cup I will add some ketchup or teriyaki or even more hoisin sauce to make the half a cup. I don't use the rice part of the recipe, just the sauce. I also add an extra tablespoon of peanut butter. It make the sauce nice and creamy. Even my three year old has a second helping. I use whatever meat and veggies I have pour it all over chow mein noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Absolutely delicious!!!!!! I made this with the Baked Teriyaki Chicken recipe also on this site. The sauce made a wonderful dipping sauce for the Teriyaki Chicken. Thanks for the recipe!!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Loved this recipe!! I will definately be making it again and agin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
This is so great! Unique twist on a traditional favorite. I'll definitely make this again. I love the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States