Fried Rice with Ginger, Hoisin, and Sesame Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Coming from a Chinese family, I would never attempt to make fried rice with fresh cooked rice - only ever day old rice. With this recipe and day old rice, my grains of rice turned out fresh and didn't stick to the bottom of the pan or turn into a ball of mush, but it didn't really turn out 'fried' either. I didn't have any eggs in the house, so I skipped it. And I couldn't bring myself to put BBQ sauce in hoisin and soya sauce - I just couldn't wrap my mind around it - so I used oyster sauce instead. My recipe looked more like: equal parts hoisin and oyter sauce with a splash or two of soya sauce, 1 tsp of ground ginger and 1 tbsp of peanut butter. The resulting sauce I was quite happy with. I then fried the garlic up with onion and chicken, added green pepper and zucchini...and voilà. Despite the failure of the fried part of my rice, I quite liked the idea for the sauce this recipe gave me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This was pretty good! I substituted in the veggies I had, and used brown rice instead of white rice. The sauce makes this a very versatile dish-- you can add anything in and the sauce adds a nice flavor without overpowering the rest of the ingredients. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
My husband took one bite of this and refused to eat anymore. I think that if I made it again, I wouldn't use most of the ingredients in teh sauce, just use Hoisin instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
It was ok. I would leave out the peanut butter and bbq sauce, it makes the rice way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This recipe was too sweet for our tastes. I might try it next time without the bbq sauce and hoison sauce and just add more soy. That would make it a good basic fried rice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartwell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This dish was great. I replaced the white rice with whole grain brown rice, which add some extra cooking time, but the outcome was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
this could be much better if you used day old rice. with the freshly cooked rice it was quite mushy. great flavors though. the sauce was good on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Green Goddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I thought the flavor was great, but alas, my husband only gave it a shrug. I think there was too much barbeque flavor for fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I followed this exactly and don't think will make it again. No one took seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States